Book Tour: Son of the STorm by Suyi Davies Okungbowa

Son of the Storm by: Suyi Davies Okungbowa

Release Date: May 11th, 2021

Publisher: Orbit Books

Genre: Adult, Fantasy

Pages: 545

Amazon | Goodreads

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Cover Artist: Dan dos Santos


On-page Representation

  • African/Black
  • Albinism
  • Disability
  • Nonbinary
  • Pan/polysexual

Trigger and Content Warnings

  • Ageism
  • Bones
  • Colourism/discrimination
  • Emotionally manipulative relationship
  • Fire
  • Misogyny
  • Pain
  • Pregnancy and miscarriage/abortion
  • Violence, blood and murder

Synopsis

A young scholar’s ambition threatens to reshape an empire determined to retain its might in this epic tale of violent conquest, buried histories, and forbidden magic.

In the thriving city of Bassa, Danso is a clever but disillusioned scholar who longs for a life beyond the rigid family and political obligations expected of the city’s elite. A way out presents itself when Lilong, a skin-changing warrior, shows up wounded in his barn. She comes from the Nameless Islands–which, according to Bassa lore, don’t exist–and neither should the mythical magic of ibor she wields. Now swept into a conspiracy far beyond his understanding, Danso will have to set out on a journey that reveals histories violently suppressed and magic only found in lore.


Review

Thank you immensely to Caffeine Book Tours, author Suyi Davies Okungbowa, and Orbit Books for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Son of the Storm is yet another homerun from Orbit Books. I am truly never disappointed by the story, the characters, or the world we are presented. The author manages to pull you into the story within the first chapter. Fantastically written and captivating this story had me flipping pages quicker than my fingers could manage. We are introduced to a character who is being hunted for an unknown reason, buttt we have to wait if we want to find out exactly who this is because the story immediately jumps to Danso, whom I love very much. Danso was not my favorite during the opening acts of this book, but he grew on me very quickly in a short amount of time and I found myself eagerly awaiting his chapters in the book. He is your typical MC that wants something different in life, but he is also so much more than that.

The magic system in this book is very familiar and unique at the same time. One thing this novel does well is introducing us to this magic system and the use of Ibor. As this system is introduced to readers it is also being introduced to the characters and I felt that this brought me closer to them. I truly felt like I was on this journey of discovery with them.

Political intrigue makes up a portion of this book as well and I loved being able to see another character, Esheme, develop into someone I never thought she would turn out to be from her opening scene. I will say that the signs were there that gave us a hint to her true nature, but nothing obvious. The direction that Davies Okungbowa took this character definitely added a depth to this story that I didn’t know I needed.

All in all, this book will now sit on my favorite fantasy pedestal along with The Rage of Dragons and The Unbroken.


Caffeine Book Tours Schedule: Son of the Storm


Meet the Author

Suyi Davies Okungbowa is a Nigerian author of speculative fiction inspired by his West-African origins. He is the author of David Mogo, Godhunter and his shorter works have appeared in Lightspeed, Nightmare, Strange Horizons and other periodicals and anthologies. He lives between Lagos, Nigeria and Tucson, Arizona where he teaches writing while completing his MFA in Creative Writing. He tweets at @IAmSuyiDavies and is @suyidavies everywhere else.

Website | Goodreads | Instagram | Twitter


Meet the Cover Artist

Well known for his colorful oil paintings, most often depicting strong women, Dan dos Santos’ work spans a variety of genres, including comics, film and video games, but is best known for his book cover work.

He has worked for clients such as Disney, Universal Studios, Activision, Scholastic Books, The Greenwich Workshop, Penguin Books, Random House, UpperDeck, Wizards of the Coast, DC Comics, and many, many more.

Dan has been the recipient of many awards. He is a ‘Rhodes Family Scholarship’ winner, a five time ‘Hugo Award’ Nominee for Best Artist, Jack Gauhan Award Winner, Chesley Award Winner, and has received both Gold and Silver Medals from ‘Spectrum: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art’.

His illustrations have graced the #1 spot on the New York Times Best Seller list numerous times, and his covers can seen in bookstores in dozens of countries around the world.

Simply put, Dan dos Santos is one the most recognized artists in his field. With hundreds of book covers to his credit, his vision has helped shape what the Fantasy market is today.

Website | Instagram


Check out my other blog posts here!

Book Tour: The Last Shadow Warrior by Sam Subity

Synopsis Content Warnings: Main characters’s mother has died four years earlier and her father is critically injured and hospitalized for most of the book. Twelve-year-old Abby Beckett is proud to come from a long line of elite Viking warriors known as the Aesir. She’s spent her entire life training to hunt the horrific creatures known […]

Read More

Book Tour: The Ivies by Alexa Donne

Synopsis Everyone knows the Ivies: the most coveted universities in the United States. Far more important are the Ivies. The Ivies at Claflin Academy, that is. Five girls with the same mission: to get into the Ivy League by any means necessary. I would know. I’m one of them. We disrupt class ranks, club leaderships, […]

Read More

Book Tour: The Firebird Song

Synopsis Debut author Arnée Flores spins an exciting and original tale about hope in even the darkest of places, perfect for fans of Shannon Hale. The Kingdom of Lyrica was once warm and thriving, kept safe by the Firebird, whose feather and song was a blessing of peace and prosperity. But the Firebird disappeared, and Lyrica […]

Read More

Book Tour: The Other Side oF Perfect by Mariko Turk

Synopsis Content Warning: protagonist is dealing with a lot of anger and some depression, various experiences of racism Alina Keeler was destined to dance, but one terrifying fall shatters her leg–and her dreams of a professional ballet career along with it.  After a summer healing (translation: eating vast amounts of Cool Ranch Doritos and binging […]

Read More

Book Tour and Author Interview: The Ones We’re Meant to Find

Synopsis Content Warning: terminal illness, suicide, violence (including choking), death, death of parent (off page), vomiting, large scale natural disasters and mass casualties, some gore. One of the most twisty, surprising, engaging page-turner YAs you’ll read this year—We Were Liars with sci-fi scope, Lost with a satisfying resolution. Cee awoke on an abandoned island three years ago. With […]

Read More

Book Tour: Sugar and Spite by Gail D. Villanueva

Synopsis Can a bully be defeated by a magical love potion? Jolina can’t take Claudine’s bullying any longer! The taunts and teasing are too much. Though Jolina knows she’s still in-training to use her grandfather’s arbularyo magic, she sneaks into his potions lab to get her revenge. Jolina brews a batch of gayuma, a powerful […]

Read More

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s