Book Tour: The Other Side oF Perfect by Mariko Turk

The Other Side of Perfect by: Mariko Turk

Release Date: May 11th, 2021

Publisher: Little, Brown

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

Pages: 336

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | IndieBound

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

Synopsis

Content Warning: protagonist is dealing with a lot of anger and some depression, various experiences of racism

Alina Keeler was destined to dance, but one terrifying fall shatters her leg–and her dreams of a professional ballet career along with it. 

After a summer healing (translation: eating vast amounts of Cool Ranch Doritos and binging ballet videos on YouTube), she is forced to trade her pre-professional dance classes for normal high school, where she reluctantly joins the school musical. However, rehearsals offer more than she expected–namely Jude, her annoyingly attractive cast mate she just might be falling for. 

But to move forward, Alina must make peace with her past and face the racism she had grown to accept in the dance industry. She wonders what it means to yearn for ballet–something so beautiful, yet so broken. And as broken as she feels, can she ever open her heart to someone else? 

Touching, romantic, and peppered with humor, this debut novel explores the tenuousness of perfectionism, the possibilities of change, and the importance of raising your voice. 


Review

Thank you to TBR and Beyond Tours and author Mariko Turk for allowing me to be on this wonderful book tour for The Other Side of Perfect. I was gifted a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

I loved so many things about this book. I loved Alina and how her emotions were presented. I loved how Turk presented the dilemma of having your passion ripped away from you. And I loved Alina’s journey as a whole and the changes that we see her go through. I can’t imagine what it would feel like to have any of my passions ripped from me and Alina’s reaction to it is not a pleasant one, but a very real one. We get to see the ugly side of not being able to pursue your dreams. We see the hurt, the disappointment, and the jealousy. Sure, it is always nice to be immediately positive when something tragic like this happens, however, the more realistic emotions are the ones that are not good to feel. Turk does an excellent job at conveying these emotions to her readers.

Alina’s journey as a whole was not an easy one. One day she is doing what she loves and persevering through the hardships that her passion presents her and then the next she told she will never be the same dancer as she was before. The steps that our MC takes after this to figure out who she is without her passion is not lock-step at all. She is truly put through the ringer physically, mentally, and emotionally. This is definitely one of my most raw reads of this year. I look forward to seeing what Turk has in store for us with her future writing.


Meet the Author

Mariko Turk grew up in Pennsylvania and graduated from the University of Pittsburgh with a BA in creative writing. She received her PhD in English from the University of Florida, with a concentration in children’s literature. Currently, she works as a Writing Center consultant at the University of Colorado Boulder.

She lives in Colorado with her husband and baby daughter, where she enjoys tea, walks, and stories of all kinds. 

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads


Tour Schedule

May 10th
Nine Bookish Lives – Interview & Review
thisbellereadstoo – Review & Mood Board
A Court of Coffee and Books – Review & Favourite Quotes
Melancholic Blithe – Review & Playlist

May 11th
Pages & Plots – Promo Post
mac n’ books – Review
Readingwithtyler – Review

May 12th
The Book Dutchesses – Review
dinipandareads – Review & Journal Spread
Lost in Neverland – Review

May 13th
Windows to Worlds – Interview
And On She Reads – Review & Favourite Quotes
teatimelit – Review
Velarisreads – Review

May 14th
The Book View – Review
Living, Loving and Reading – Review & Mood Board
Justice For Readers – Review

May 15th
Stuck in Fiction – Top 5 Reasons to Read The Other Side of Perfect
Ruei’s Reading Corner – Review & Favourite Quotes
Kait Plus Books – Promo Post

May 16th
sunnysidereviews – Interview
Rebi reads a lot – Review & Top 5 Reasons to Read The Other Side of Perfect
TLC Book Nook – Review
Belle’s Archive – Review


Check out my other blog posts here!

TBR and Beyond Tours: Highly Suspicious and Unfairly Cute by Talia Hibbert

Highly Suspicious and Unfairly Cute by Talia Hibbert Release Date: January 3rd, 2023 Publisher: Joy Revolution Genre: Young Adult, Romance Pages: 336 Goodreads | The StoryGraph | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | Indiebound Synopsis From the New York Times bestselling author of the Brown Sisters trilogy, comes a laugh-out-loud story about…

Read More

TBR and Beyond Book Tour: The Dragon’s Promise by Elizabeth Lim

Synopsis From the New York Times Bestselling author of Six Crimson Cranes comes a thrilling new adventure! A journey to the kingdom of dragons, a star-crossed love, and a cursed pearl with the power to mend the world or break it… Fans of Shadow and Bone will devour this soaring fantasy. Princess Shiori made a deathbed promise to return the dragon’s…

Read More

Turn the Page Tours: Blood Like Fate by Liselle Sambury

Synopsis Voya fights to save her witch community from a terrible future. Voya Thomas may have passed her Calling to become a full-fledged witch, but the cost was higher than she’d ever imagined. Her grandmother is gone. Her cousin hates her. And her family doesn’t believe that she has what it takes to lead them.…

Read More

TBR and Beyond Tours: Etta Invincible by Reese Eschmann

Etta Invincible by Reese Eschmann Release Date: July 12th, 2022 Publisher: Aladdin Genre: Middle Grade Contemporary Pages: 368 Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | Indiebound Synopsis A girl with hearing loss and a boy adjusting to life in a new country connect through their love of comics and…

Read More

Colored Pages Tours: The Witchery by S. Isabelle

Synopsis Haelsford, Florida is a Hellmouth. Or at least, that’s what Logan, a baby witch struggling to control her powers, thinks as she arrives to the witchtown to begin the new school year at Mesmortes Coven Academy. She is immediately taken under the wing of the infamous Red Three. Iris is a deathwitch who wants…

Read More

One thought on “Book Tour: The Other Side oF Perfect by Mariko Turk

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s