Book Tour: The Other Side oF Perfect by Mariko Turk

The Other Side of Perfect by: Mariko Turk

Release Date: May 11th, 2021

Publisher: Little, Brown

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

Pages: 336

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | IndieBound

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

Synopsis

Content Warning: protagonist is dealing with a lot of anger and some depression, various experiences of racism

Alina Keeler was destined to dance, but one terrifying fall shatters her leg–and her dreams of a professional ballet career along with it. 

After a summer healing (translation: eating vast amounts of Cool Ranch Doritos and binging ballet videos on YouTube), she is forced to trade her pre-professional dance classes for normal high school, where she reluctantly joins the school musical. However, rehearsals offer more than she expected–namely Jude, her annoyingly attractive cast mate she just might be falling for. 

But to move forward, Alina must make peace with her past and face the racism she had grown to accept in the dance industry. She wonders what it means to yearn for ballet–something so beautiful, yet so broken. And as broken as she feels, can she ever open her heart to someone else? 

Touching, romantic, and peppered with humor, this debut novel explores the tenuousness of perfectionism, the possibilities of change, and the importance of raising your voice. 


Review

Thank you to TBR and Beyond Tours and author Mariko Turk for allowing me to be on this wonderful book tour for The Other Side of Perfect. I was gifted a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

I loved so many things about this book. I loved Alina and how her emotions were presented. I loved how Turk presented the dilemma of having your passion ripped away from you. And I loved Alina’s journey as a whole and the changes that we see her go through. I can’t imagine what it would feel like to have any of my passions ripped from me and Alina’s reaction to it is not a pleasant one, but a very real one. We get to see the ugly side of not being able to pursue your dreams. We see the hurt, the disappointment, and the jealousy. Sure, it is always nice to be immediately positive when something tragic like this happens, however, the more realistic emotions are the ones that are not good to feel. Turk does an excellent job at conveying these emotions to her readers.

Alina’s journey as a whole was not an easy one. One day she is doing what she loves and persevering through the hardships that her passion presents her and then the next she told she will never be the same dancer as she was before. The steps that our MC takes after this to figure out who she is without her passion is not lock-step at all. She is truly put through the ringer physically, mentally, and emotionally. This is definitely one of my most raw reads of this year. I look forward to seeing what Turk has in store for us with her future writing.


Meet the Author

Mariko Turk grew up in Pennsylvania and graduated from the University of Pittsburgh with a BA in creative writing. She received her PhD in English from the University of Florida, with a concentration in children’s literature. Currently, she works as a Writing Center consultant at the University of Colorado Boulder.

She lives in Colorado with her husband and baby daughter, where she enjoys tea, walks, and stories of all kinds. 

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads


Tour Schedule

May 10th
Nine Bookish Lives – Interview & Review
thisbellereadstoo – Review & Mood Board
A Court of Coffee and Books – Review & Favourite Quotes
Melancholic Blithe – Review & Playlist

May 11th
Pages & Plots – Promo Post
mac n’ books – Review
Readingwithtyler – Review

May 12th
The Book Dutchesses – Review
dinipandareads – Review & Journal Spread
Lost in Neverland – Review

May 13th
Windows to Worlds – Interview
And On She Reads – Review & Favourite Quotes
teatimelit – Review
Velarisreads – Review

May 14th
The Book View – Review
Living, Loving and Reading – Review & Mood Board
Justice For Readers – Review

May 15th
Stuck in Fiction – Top 5 Reasons to Read The Other Side of Perfect
Ruei’s Reading Corner – Review & Favourite Quotes
Kait Plus Books – Promo Post

May 16th
sunnysidereviews – Interview
Rebi reads a lot – Review & Top 5 Reasons to Read The Other Side of Perfect
TLC Book Nook – Review
Belle’s Archive – Review


Check out my other blog posts here!

Book Tour: Again Again by E. Lockhart

Synopsis From the New York Times bestselling author of We Were Liars and Genuine Fraud comes a complex novel about acceptance, forgiveness, self-discovery, and possibility, as a teenage girl attempts to regain some sense of normalcy in her life after a family crisis and a broken heart. If you could live your life again, what would you do differently? […]

Read More

Book Tour: The Last Shadow Warrior by Sam Subity

Synopsis Content Warnings: Main characters’s mother has died four years earlier and her father is critically injured and hospitalized for most of the book. Twelve-year-old Abby Beckett is proud to come from a long line of elite Viking warriors known as the Aesir. She’s spent her entire life training to hunt the horrific creatures known […]

Read More

Book Tour: The Ivies by Alexa Donne

Synopsis Everyone knows the Ivies: the most coveted universities in the United States. Far more important are the Ivies. The Ivies at Claflin Academy, that is. Five girls with the same mission: to get into the Ivy League by any means necessary. I would know. I’m one of them. We disrupt class ranks, club leaderships, […]

Read More

Book Tour: The Firebird Song

Synopsis Debut author Arnée Flores spins an exciting and original tale about hope in even the darkest of places, perfect for fans of Shannon Hale. The Kingdom of Lyrica was once warm and thriving, kept safe by the Firebird, whose feather and song was a blessing of peace and prosperity. But the Firebird disappeared, and Lyrica […]

Read More

Book Tour: Son of the STorm by Suyi Davies Okungbowa

On-page Representation African/Black Albinism Disability Nonbinary Pan/polysexual Trigger and Content Warnings Ageism Bones Colourism/discrimination Emotionally manipulative relationship Fire Misogyny Pain Pregnancy and miscarriage/abortion Violence, blood and murder Synopsis A young scholar’s ambition threatens to reshape an empire determined to retain its might in this epic tale of violent conquest, buried histories, and forbidden magic. In […]

Read More

Book Tour and Author Interview: The Ones We’re Meant to Find

Synopsis Content Warning: terminal illness, suicide, violence (including choking), death, death of parent (off page), vomiting, large scale natural disasters and mass casualties, some gore. One of the most twisty, surprising, engaging page-turner YAs you’ll read this year—We Were Liars with sci-fi scope, Lost with a satisfying resolution. Cee awoke on an abandoned island three years ago. With […]

Read More

One thought on “Book Tour: The Other Side oF Perfect by Mariko Turk

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s