TBR and Beyond Tours: The Noh Family by Grace K Shim

The Noh Family by Grace K Shim

Release Date: May 3rd, 2022

Publisher: Kokila

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

Pages: 384

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | Indiebound

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

Synopsis

A sparkling K-drama inspired debut teen novel by Grace Shim, THE NOH FAMILY introduces irrepressibly charming teen Chloe Kang, who is reunited with her deceased father’s estranged family via a DNA test, and is soon whisked off to Seoul to join them…

When her friends gift her a 23-and-Me test as a gag, high school senior Chloe Kang doesn’t think much of trying it out. She doesn’t believe anything will come of it–she’s an only child, her mother is an orphan, and her father died in Seoul before she was even born, and before her mother moved to Oklahoma. It’s been just Chloe and her mom her whole life. But the DNA test reveals something Chloe never expected–she’s got a whole extended family from her father’s side half a world away in Korea. Her father’s family are owners of a famous high-end department store, and are among the richest families in Seoul. When they learn she exists, they are excited to meet her. Her mother has huge reservations, she hasn’t had a great relationship with her husband’s family, which is why she’s kept them secret, but she can’t stop Chloe from travelling to Seoul to spend two weeks getting to know the Noh family.

Chloe is whisked into the lap of luxury, but something feels wrong. Chloe wants to shake it off–she’s busy enjoying the delights of Seoul with new friend Miso Dan, the daughter of one of her mother’s grade school friends. And as an aspiring fashion designer, she’s loving the couture clothes her department store owning family gives her access to. But soon Chloe will discover the reason why her mother never told her about her dad’s family, and why the Nohs wanted her in Seoul in the first place. Could joining the Noh family be worse than having no family at all?


Review

Thank you to TBR and Beyond Tours and author Grace K Shim for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review!

This book was truly such a joy to read. I have never been to Korea, however, this book made me long to be able to have the experience of visiting one day. There were so many wonderful descriptions of the sights in Seoul as well as the culture and food that is present there. Shim does a wonderful job of pulling the reader into the environment and making this book un-put-downable. Chloe’s aspirations to become a fashion designer were also really great to see. I don’t get to read too many books where the MC is focused on fashion, but I wholly enjoyed reading about this aspect of the story. I also really enjoyed seeing the family dynamics between Chloe and the Nohs. It really opened up a new perspective for with an inside look of a Korean family. The interactions between the two became progressively more thrilling as the book went on. In the beginning of the book we aren’t really sure what the deal is and why Chloe didn’t know about them before, but we soon learn everything we need to know about the family. I truly cannot wait to read more from this author!


Meet the Author

Grace grew up in Tulsa, Oklahoma as one of two Korean-Americans at her high school (her sister was the other one). Today, Grace writes books with Korean-American protagonists that she wished she had read about as a teen.

When she’s not plotting (the writing kind, not the world domination kind), you can find her wearing a Korean sheet mask, baking French macarons, and unintentionally killing house plants & succulents. She lives in the Bay Area with her husband and three kids.

Website | Instagram | Twitter | Goodreads


TBR and Beyond Tour Schedule: The Noh Family

May 2nd
Stuck in Fiction – Promotional Post
Book Thoughts and Musings – Review & Mood Board

May 3rd
Quill Tree Fox – Interview
Whispering Stories – Review
Fueled By Chapters – Dissecting K-Drama Tropes

May 4th
Nine Bookish Lives – Promotional Post
B for Bookslut – Review

May 5th
Kait Plus Books – Interview
popthebutterfly reads – Review
Beauty & Her Books – Top 5 Reasons to Read The Noh Family

May 6th
Brinns Books – Review & Favorite Quotes
Confessions of a YA Reader – Promotional Post

May 7th
Melancholic Blithe – Interview
Justice For Readers – Review & Favorite Quotes

May 8th
Oyinda Loves Books – Top 5 Reasons to Read The Noh Family
Little Corner Reads – Mood Board


Check out my other blog posts here!

TBR and Beyond Tours: Highly Suspicious and Unfairly Cute by Talia Hibbert

Highly Suspicious and Unfairly Cute by Talia Hibbert Release Date: January 3rd, 2023 Publisher: Joy Revolution Genre: Young Adult, Romance Pages: 336 Goodreads | The StoryGraph | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | Indiebound Synopsis From the New York Times bestselling author of the Brown Sisters trilogy, comes a laugh-out-loud story about…

Read More

TBR and Beyond Book Tour: The Dragon’s Promise by Elizabeth Lim

Synopsis From the New York Times Bestselling author of Six Crimson Cranes comes a thrilling new adventure! A journey to the kingdom of dragons, a star-crossed love, and a cursed pearl with the power to mend the world or break it… Fans of Shadow and Bone will devour this soaring fantasy. Princess Shiori made a deathbed promise to return the dragon’s…

Read More

Turn the Page Tours: Blood Like Fate by Liselle Sambury

Synopsis Voya fights to save her witch community from a terrible future. Voya Thomas may have passed her Calling to become a full-fledged witch, but the cost was higher than she’d ever imagined. Her grandmother is gone. Her cousin hates her. And her family doesn’t believe that she has what it takes to lead them.…

Read More

TBR and Beyond Tours: Etta Invincible by Reese Eschmann

Etta Invincible by Reese Eschmann Release Date: July 12th, 2022 Publisher: Aladdin Genre: Middle Grade Contemporary Pages: 368 Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | Indiebound Synopsis A girl with hearing loss and a boy adjusting to life in a new country connect through their love of comics and…

Read More

Colored Pages Tours: The Witchery by S. Isabelle

Synopsis Haelsford, Florida is a Hellmouth. Or at least, that’s what Logan, a baby witch struggling to control her powers, thinks as she arrives to the witchtown to begin the new school year at Mesmortes Coven Academy. She is immediately taken under the wing of the infamous Red Three. Iris is a deathwitch who wants…

Read More

One thought on “TBR and Beyond Tours: The Noh Family by Grace K Shim

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s