Turn the Page Tours: Blood Like Fate by Liselle Sambury

Blood Like Fate by Liselle Sambury

Release Date: August 2nd, 2022

Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books, Simon & Schuster

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Pages: 480

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | IndieBound

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Synopsis

Voya fights to save her witch community from a terrible future.

Voya Thomas may have passed her Calling to become a full-fledged witch, but the cost was higher than she’d ever imagined.

Her grandmother is gone.

Her cousin hates her.

And her family doesn’t believe that she has what it takes to lead them.

What’s more, Voya can’t let go of her feelings for Luc, sponsor son of the genius billionaire Justin Tremblay—the man that Luc believes Voya killed. Consequently, Luc wants nothing to do with her. Even her own ancestors seem to have lost faith in her. Every day Voya begs for their guidance, but her calls go unanswered.

As Voya struggles to convince everyone—herself included—that she can be a good Matriarch, she has a vision of a terrifying, deadly future. A vision that would spell the end of the Toronto witches. With a newfound sense of purpose, Voya must do whatever it takes to bring her shattered community together and stop what’s coming for them before it’s too late.

Even if it means taking down the boy she loves—who might be the mastermind behind the coming devastation.


Review

Thank you to Turn the Page Tours and author Liselle Sambury for sending me a copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review.

Blood Like Fate is such a wonderful follow up to Blood Like Magic. The way that Sambury continues Voya’s story and her struggle to be the matriarch of her family was so well done. Voya is such a great character and we really get to see her grow within her family unit in this book. Her powers were so interesting and it was so cool to see them come to life on the page. It was also interesting to see how the family dynamic shifted now that she had to fill her grandmother’s shoes.

Blood Like Fate also continues to do a phenomenal job at combining fantasy and science fiction elements to create such a unique setting. Sambury’s attention to detail is something you cannot miss and it really seals the deal on giving you a fully immersive experience as you read.

The pacing of the book matched the first in that there were no dull moments and each chapter fully added to the story. Sambury brought back. the entirety of the cast of characters from the first book and everyone had a role to serve within the story. Sometimes in books I feel that the author has forgotten about certain smaller details from their previous works and it leaves me wondering whatever happend to those story elements. I did not feel that way about this story at all! I loved how each of Voya’s points in her life were so intertwined and the details seemed to overlap with none being forgotten.

Overall, I am so sad that this is the conclusion to the Blood Like Duology but I am so happy to have read these novels. I cannot wait to continue to read Sambury’s work.


Bookish Playlist for Blood Like Fate


Enter for a chance to win One (1) of Three (3) Finished Copies of Blood Like Fate!


Meet the Author

Liselle Sambury is the Trinidadian-Canadian author of the Governor General’s Literary Awards Finalist, Blood Like Magic. Her work spans multiple genres, from fantasy to sci-fi, horror, and more. In her free time, she shares helpful tips for upcoming writers and details of her publishing journey through a YouTube channel dedicated to demystifying the sometimes complicated business of being an author. She’s represented by Kristy Hunter at The Knight Agency.

Website | Instagram | Twitter | Goodreads


Turn the Page Tours Schedule: Blood Like Fate

July 24th

@turnthepagetours – Tour Welcome/Book Introduction
Pop the Butterfly Reads

July 25th

A Bookish Dream
Le Petite Morte — Bookish Playlist

July 26th

Moonlight Rendezvous
@myblackbookish_life

July 27th

Radus Reads
All for the Books

July 28th

Stacia Loves To Read
Justice for Readers — Bookish Playlist

July 29th

Sanjariti Reads

July 30th

Book Lover’s Book Reviews


Check out my other blog posts here!

TBR and Beyond Book Tour: The Dragon’s Promise by Elizabeth Lim

Synopsis From the New York Times Bestselling author of Six Crimson Cranes comes a thrilling new adventure! A journey to the kingdom of dragons, a star-crossed love, and a cursed pearl with the power to mend the world or break it… Fans of Shadow and Bone will devour this soaring fantasy. Princess Shiori made a deathbed promise to return the dragon’s […]

Read More

TBR and Beyond Tours: Etta Invincible by Reese Eschmann

Etta Invincible by Reese Eschmann Release Date: July 12th, 2022 Publisher: Aladdin Genre: Middle Grade Contemporary Pages: 368 Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | Indiebound Synopsis A girl with hearing loss and a boy adjusting to life in a new country connect through their love of comics and […]

Read More

Colored Pages Tours: The Witchery by S. Isabelle

Synopsis Haelsford, Florida is a Hellmouth. Or at least, that’s what Logan, a baby witch struggling to control her powers, thinks as she arrives to the witchtown to begin the new school year at Mesmortes Coven Academy. She is immediately taken under the wing of the infamous Red Three. Iris is a deathwitch who wants […]

Read More

One thought on “Turn the Page Tours: Blood Like Fate by Liselle Sambury

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s