TBR and Beyond Tours: Not Good For Maidens by Tori Bovalino

Not Good for Maidens by Tori Bovalino

Release Date: June 21st, 2022

Publisher: Page Street Publishing

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Horror

Pages: 352

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | Indiebound

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Synopsis

Salem’s Lot meets The Darkest Part of the Forest in this horror-fantasy retelling of Christina Rossetti’s “Goblin Market.”

Lou never believed in superstitions or magic–until her teenage aunt Neela is kidnapped to the goblin market.

The market is a place Lou has only read about–twisted streets, offerings of sweet fruits and incredible jewels. Everything–from the food and wares, to the goblins themselves–is a haunting temptation for any human who manages to find their way in.

Determined to save Neela, Lou learns songs and spells and tricks that will help her navigate this dangerous world and slip past a goblin’s defenses–but she only has three days to find Neela before the market disappears and her aunt becomes one of them forever.

If she isn’t careful, the market might just end up claiming her too.

Content warnings: on-page gore, on-page body horror, violence, trauma


Top 5 Reasons to Read Not Good for Maidens

Thank you to TBR and Beyond Tours and author Tori Bovalino for providing me with a copy of this book!

  1. Tori Bovalino is a master of making you frightened and uncomfortable as you read. If you are truly looking for a horror story, this is the place to be.
  2. Bovalino’s expert writing immediately draws you into the story she has created and there is never a dull moment.
  3. The LGBTQ+ rep is blatant and the terminology is used in the book as well.
  4. Extremely interesting character arcs and developments. Each character was so unique and had their own personality.
  5. A fully realized plot with a descriptive setting and well-thought-out theme.

Meet the Author

Tori Bovalino grew up near Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, and never knew she wanted to live abroad until she was already in London. She’s awful at picking favorites, but her consistent go-to books are Pride and Prejudice, Fire, and The Picture of Dorian Gray. She’s enamored with books that make her cry.

Tori holds a BA in English fiction writing and anthropology and a minor in German from the University of Pittsburgh and an MA in Creative Writing from Royal Holloway, University of London. She is currently on the Creative and practice-based PhD course at RHUL, researching the relationship between Russian folklore and YA fantasy novels. In her free time, Tori enjoys reading (duh), embroidering, and traveling.

She is represented by Dr. Uwe Stender and Amelia Appel at TriadaUS Literary Agency. She writes short stories, poetry, and novels.

Website | Instagram | Twitter | Goodreads


TBR and Beyond Tours Schedule: Not Good For Maidens

June 13th
Kait Plus Books – Interview
Nine Bookish Lives – Promotional Post
Brinn’s Books – Review, Favorite Quotes
Becky’s Book Blog – Review

June 14th
Confessions of a YA Reader – Promotional Post
Althea Is Reading – Review
Clouded Galaxy Reads – Review

June 15th
Book Notes by Athina – Promotional Post
Ink Slinger – 15 Reactions While Reading Not Good for Maidens
Beneath A Thousand Skies – Review
Metaphors and Miscellanea – Review & Favorite Quotes

June 16th
Quills and Stardust – Interview
Inking & Thinking – Review & Playlist
Stuck in the Stacks – Review
Modest Hiccup – Top 5 Reasons to Read Not Good for Maidens & Mood Board

June 17th
Phannie the ginger bookworm – 15 Reactions While Reading Not Good for Maidens
The Book Dutchesses – Promotional Post
Justice For Readers – Top 5 Reasons to Read Not Good for Maidens
Gwendalyn’s Books – Review

June 18th
stories with saima – Review
Lu is lost in books – Review
The Bookish Coven – Promotional Post
The Nerdy Nook – Review & Favorite Quotes

June 19th
A Court of Coffee and Books – Interview
Stuck in Fiction – Promotional Post
Unabridged Adventures – Review & Favorite Quotes
Literary Liza – Review & Favorite Quotes


Check out my other blog posts here!

TBR and Beyond Tours: Highly Suspicious and Unfairly Cute by Talia Hibbert

Highly Suspicious and Unfairly Cute by Talia Hibbert Release Date: January 3rd, 2023 Publisher: Joy Revolution Genre: Young Adult, Romance Pages: 336 Goodreads | The StoryGraph | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | Indiebound Synopsis From the New York Times bestselling author of the Brown Sisters trilogy, comes a laugh-out-loud story about…

Read More

TBR and Beyond Book Tour: The Dragon’s Promise by Elizabeth Lim

Synopsis From the New York Times Bestselling author of Six Crimson Cranes comes a thrilling new adventure! A journey to the kingdom of dragons, a star-crossed love, and a cursed pearl with the power to mend the world or break it… Fans of Shadow and Bone will devour this soaring fantasy. Princess Shiori made a deathbed promise to return the dragon’s…

Read More

Turn the Page Tours: Blood Like Fate by Liselle Sambury

Synopsis Voya fights to save her witch community from a terrible future. Voya Thomas may have passed her Calling to become a full-fledged witch, but the cost was higher than she’d ever imagined. Her grandmother is gone. Her cousin hates her. And her family doesn’t believe that she has what it takes to lead them.…

Read More

TBR and Beyond Tours: Etta Invincible by Reese Eschmann

Etta Invincible by Reese Eschmann Release Date: July 12th, 2022 Publisher: Aladdin Genre: Middle Grade Contemporary Pages: 368 Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | Indiebound Synopsis A girl with hearing loss and a boy adjusting to life in a new country connect through their love of comics and…

Read More

Colored Pages Tours: The Witchery by S. Isabelle

Synopsis Haelsford, Florida is a Hellmouth. Or at least, that’s what Logan, a baby witch struggling to control her powers, thinks as she arrives to the witchtown to begin the new school year at Mesmortes Coven Academy. She is immediately taken under the wing of the infamous Red Three. Iris is a deathwitch who wants…

Read More

One thought on “TBR and Beyond Tours: Not Good For Maidens by Tori Bovalino

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s