Turn the Page Tours: The Cartographers by Peng Shepherd

The Cartographers by Peng Shepherd

Release Date: March 15th, 2022

Publisher: HarperCollins – William Morrow

Genre: Fiction, Mystery, Thriller

Pages: 400

Goodreads | Amazon | Bookshop

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

Synopsis

What is the purpose of a map?

Nell Young’s whole life and greatest passion is cartography. Her father, Dr. Daniel Young, is a legend in the field, and Nell’s personal hero. But she hasn’t seen or spoken to him ever since he cruelly fired her and destroyed her reputation after an argument over an old, cheap gas station highway map.

But when Dr. Young is found dead in his office at the New York Public Library, with the very same seemingly worthless map hidden in his desk, Nell can’t resist investigating. To her surprise, she soon discovers that the map is incredibly valuable, and also exceedingly rare. In fact, she may now have the only copy left in existence… because a mysterious collector has been hunting down and destroying every last one—along with anyone who gets in the way.

But why?

To answer that question, Nell embarks on a dangerous journey to reveal a dark family secret, and discover the true power that lies in maps…


Review

Thank you to Turn the Page Tours and author Peng Shepherd for sending me a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review!

I absolutely adored this book. I haven’t read a lot of books about maps and mapmaking, but this has certainly made me want to pick more of them up. This adult mystery/thriller novel will pull you in from the very first page and will keep your attention until the very end. Nell’s journey of finding the purpose of a mystery map will have you guessing every step of the way. I really enjoyed how much this story has a really faint resemblence the movie ‘National Treasure’. It was thrilling and I couldn’t wait to see where Nell was going to end up. I definitely recommend this book to anyone wanted to dip their toe into adult fiction!


Meet the Author

Peng Shepherd was born and raised in Phoenix, Arizona, where she rode horses and trained in classical ballet, and has lived in Beijing, Kuala Lumpur, London, Los Angeles, Washington, D.C., Philadelphia, New York, and Las Vegas.

Her first novel, The Book of M, won the 2019 Neukom Institute for Literary Arts Award for Debut Speculative Fiction, and was chosen as a best book of the year by Amazon, Elle, Refinery29, and The Verge, as well as a best book of the summer by the Today Show and NPR On Point. A graduate of the NYU MFA program, Peng is the recipient of a 2020 fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts, as well as the Elizabeth George Foundation’s emerging writers 2016 grant.

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads


Turn the Page Tours: The Cartographers

March 7

@turnthepagetours – Tour Kick Off
@currant7_recommends
@zombiepandabooks 

March 8

@kerri_mcbooknerd
@tangledupinbooks

March 9

@liferhi_inspired
@justiceforreaders

March 10

@stephisbooked
@themagicalreader

March 11

@everything.is.words
@lostinbookverse

March 12

@kaitplusbooks
@my.bookish.mind

March 13

@BookBriefs
@WhimsicalBlessingsblog
@stuffskyereads

March 14

@Mybookworld96
@lindseys.booknook

March 15

@The_shelf_love
@books_over_everything

March 16

@Djreadsbooks 
@capturedfiction

March 17

@hooked.by.books
@takealookatmybookshelf

March 18

@jenabrownwrites
@onemused
@brinnsbooks

March 19

@Yourlocalbookreader
@avnireads

March 20

@stuck.in.the.stack
@readergirlie
@bookishandbooks

March 21

@whatfarahreads_
@Geauxgetlit 


Check out my other blog tours here!

TBR and Beyond Book Tour: Your Plantation Prom Is Not Okay by Kelly McWilliams

Synopsis This sharp-witted, timely novel explores cancel culture, anger, and grief, and challenges the romanticization of America’s racist past with humor and heart—for readers of Dear Martin by Nic Stone and Grown by Tiffany D. Jackson. Harriet Douglass lives with her historian father on an old plantation in Louisiana, which they’ve transformed into one of the South’s few enslaved people’s…

Read More

TBR and Beyond Tours: Highly Suspicious and Unfairly Cute by Talia Hibbert

Highly Suspicious and Unfairly Cute by Talia Hibbert Release Date: January 3rd, 2023 Publisher: Joy Revolution Genre: Young Adult, Romance Pages: 336 Goodreads | The StoryGraph | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | Indiebound Synopsis From the New York Times bestselling author of the Brown Sisters trilogy, comes a laugh-out-loud story about…

Read More

TBR and Beyond Book Tour: The Dragon’s Promise by Elizabeth Lim

Synopsis From the New York Times Bestselling author of Six Crimson Cranes comes a thrilling new adventure! A journey to the kingdom of dragons, a star-crossed love, and a cursed pearl with the power to mend the world or break it… Fans of Shadow and Bone will devour this soaring fantasy. Princess Shiori made a deathbed promise to return the dragon’s…

Read More

Turn the Page Tours: Blood Like Fate by Liselle Sambury

Synopsis Voya fights to save her witch community from a terrible future. Voya Thomas may have passed her Calling to become a full-fledged witch, but the cost was higher than she’d ever imagined. Her grandmother is gone. Her cousin hates her. And her family doesn’t believe that she has what it takes to lead them.…

Read More

TBR and Beyond Tours: Etta Invincible by Reese Eschmann

Etta Invincible by Reese Eschmann Release Date: July 12th, 2022 Publisher: Aladdin Genre: Middle Grade Contemporary Pages: 368 Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | Indiebound Synopsis A girl with hearing loss and a boy adjusting to life in a new country connect through their love of comics and…

Read More

Colored Pages Tours: The Witchery by S. Isabelle

Synopsis Haelsford, Florida is a Hellmouth. Or at least, that’s what Logan, a baby witch struggling to control her powers, thinks as she arrives to the witchtown to begin the new school year at Mesmortes Coven Academy. She is immediately taken under the wing of the infamous Red Three. Iris is a deathwitch who wants…

Read More

2 thoughts on “Turn the Page Tours: The Cartographers by Peng Shepherd

  1. Oooh yay! I gave this book five stars, I just really enjoyed it. I don’t often read books like it, but The Carographers just blew me away.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s