Colored Pages Tours: Blood Scion by Deborah Falaye

Blood Scion (Blood Scion #1) by Deborah Falaye

Release Date: March 8th, 2022

Publisher: HarperTeen

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Mythology

Pages: 432

Goodreads | Amazon | HarperCollins | Blackwells | Book Depository | Barnes & Noble

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Synopsis

This is what they deserve. They wanted me to be a monster. I will be the worst monster they ever created.

Fifteen-year-old Sloane can incinerate an enemy at will—she is a Scion, a descendant of the ancient Orisha gods.

Under the Lucis’ brutal rule, her identity means her death if her powers are discovered. But when she is forcibly conscripted into the Lucis army on her fifteenth birthday, Sloane sees a new opportunity: to overcome the bloody challenges of Lucis training, and destroy them from within.

Sloane rises through the ranks and gains strength but, in doing so, risks something greater: losing herself entirely, and becoming the very monster that she abhors.

Following one girl’s journey of magic, injustice, power, and revenge, this deeply felt and emotionally charged debut from Deborah Falaye, inspired by Yoruba-Nigerian mythology, is a magnetic combination of A Song of Wraiths and Ruin and Daughter of Smoke and Bone that will utterly thrill and capture readers.


Review

Thank you to Colored Pages Tours and author Deborah Falaye for allowing me to be on the book tour for this wonderful book!

*Review previously featured on another blog post. ❤️

This debut novel reached expectations that I did not even think I had. Falaye does a wonderful job with the voice produced in this novel. The story completely captured my attention from page 1 and I was completely ready to go on this journey with our main characters. There was so much creativity and lavish mythology woven into these pages and it was truly unlike anything I have ever read before. Along with the fantastical writing, I loved reading about black characters within SFF. I have definitely been able to see more of this representation now than I did when I was younger and it is truly so important for our younger generations. The strength that we see in Sloane is really something that young audiences can look up to and see in themselves. If you are looking for a book about young warriors and the strength they must possess to keep pushing on with life, this book is definitely for you.


Favorite Quotes: Blood Scion

You have to decide what matters most: your humanity or your survival.

“Great soldiers are made from pieces of their broken selves.”

“This is what they deserve. They wanted me to be a monster. I will be the worst monster they ever created.”

“When I was a child, Momma always taught me to fight for those too weak to raise their fists. Scream for those too afraid to find their voice. And stand for those too tired to rise on their feet.”


Meet the Author

Deborah Falaye is a Nigerian Canadian young adult author. She grew up in Lagos, Nigeria, where she spent her time devouring African Literature, pestering her grandma for folktales, and tricking her grandfather into watching Passions every night. When she’s not writing about fierce Black girls with bad-ass magic, she can be found obsessing over all things reality TV.

Deborah currently lives in Toronto with her husband and their partner-in-crime yorkie, Major.

Blood Scion is her first novel.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram


Colored Pages Book Tours: Blood Scion

March 8th 

@bujos_n_books – Mood Board

The Litt Librarian – Review Only 

March 9th

Goldenbookhunter – Favorite Quotes

Justice For Readers – Favorite Quotes

March 10th

@allmyfriendsareinbooks – Review Only 

@IBingeBooks – Mood Board

March 11th

Cocoa With Books – Favorite Quotes 

Glenda of all time – Review Only 

March 12th

The Reading Fairy – Book Recommendations Based on Book

Kaythebookworm – Mood Board

Reading Stewardess – Review Only 

March 13th

@wordsandcyphers – Playlist

WomanistDreamer – Review Only

More Books Please blog – Review Only

March 14th 

LoveOnPages – Favorite Quotes

Curlytop Reads – Reading Vlog

Books with Brandie Shanae – Review Only


Check out my other blog posts here!

TBR and Beyond Tours: Highly Suspicious and Unfairly Cute by Talia Hibbert

Highly Suspicious and Unfairly Cute by Talia Hibbert Release Date: January 3rd, 2023 Publisher: Joy Revolution Genre: Young Adult, Romance Pages: 336 Goodreads | The StoryGraph | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | Indiebound Synopsis From the New York Times bestselling author of the Brown Sisters trilogy, comes a laugh-out-loud story about…

Read More

TBR and Beyond Book Tour: The Dragon’s Promise by Elizabeth Lim

Synopsis From the New York Times Bestselling author of Six Crimson Cranes comes a thrilling new adventure! A journey to the kingdom of dragons, a star-crossed love, and a cursed pearl with the power to mend the world or break it… Fans of Shadow and Bone will devour this soaring fantasy. Princess Shiori made a deathbed promise to return the dragon’s…

Read More

Turn the Page Tours: Blood Like Fate by Liselle Sambury

Synopsis Voya fights to save her witch community from a terrible future. Voya Thomas may have passed her Calling to become a full-fledged witch, but the cost was higher than she’d ever imagined. Her grandmother is gone. Her cousin hates her. And her family doesn’t believe that she has what it takes to lead them.…

Read More

TBR and Beyond Tours: Etta Invincible by Reese Eschmann

Etta Invincible by Reese Eschmann Release Date: July 12th, 2022 Publisher: Aladdin Genre: Middle Grade Contemporary Pages: 368 Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | Indiebound Synopsis A girl with hearing loss and a boy adjusting to life in a new country connect through their love of comics and…

Read More

Colored Pages Tours: The Witchery by S. Isabelle

Synopsis Haelsford, Florida is a Hellmouth. Or at least, that’s what Logan, a baby witch struggling to control her powers, thinks as she arrives to the witchtown to begin the new school year at Mesmortes Coven Academy. She is immediately taken under the wing of the infamous Red Three. Iris is a deathwitch who wants…

Read More

2 thoughts on “Colored Pages Tours: Blood Scion by Deborah Falaye

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s