Book Tour: Turning by Joy L. Smith

Turning by Joy L. Smith

Release Date: March 1st, 2022

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

Pages: 352

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | Indiebound

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Synopsis

In this raw, searingly honest debut young adult novel, a former aspiring ballerina must confront her past in order to move forward from a devastating fall that leaves her without the use of her legs.

Genie used to fouetté across the stage. Now the only thing she’s turning are the wheels to her wheelchair. Genie was the star pupil at her exclusive New York dance school, with a bright future and endless possibilities before her. Now that the future she’s spent years building toward has been snatched away, she can’t stand to be reminded of it—even if it means isolating herself from her best friends and her mother. The only wish this Genie has is to be left alone.

But then she meets Kyle, who also has a “used to be.” Kyle used to tumble and flip on a gymnastics mat, but a traumatic brain injury has sent him to the same physical therapist that Genie sees. With Kyle’s support, along with her best friend’s insistence that Genie’s time at the barre isn’t over yet, Genie starts to see a new path—one where she doesn’t have to be alone and she finally has the strength to heal from the past.

But healing also means confronting. Confronting the booze her mother, a recovering alcoholic, has been hiding under the kitchen sink; the ex-boyfriend who was there the night of the fall and won’t leave her alone; and Genie’s biggest, most terrifying secret: the fact that the accident may not have been so accidental after all.

Content warnings: Being newly paralyzed from accident, parental alcoholism, abortion.


Review

Thank you to TBR and Beyond Tours and author Joy L. Smith for allowing me to be on this book tour!

Author Joy L. Smith does a wonderful job of fully pulling you into a read. Genie was written as this real and tangible character and it was hard to separate from her at the end of her story. We see Genie go through so much and I definitely felt like the ending that we get is suitable. This book also dealt with the darker topics of alcoholism and domestic abuse and it was hard to read at times but did not feel unnecessary to the story being told. I truly cannot wait to read more of Smith’s works.


Mood Board


Meet the Author

Joy L. Smith is a childcare professional and lives in Queens, New York. A graduate of SUNY New Paltz, she has a bachelor’s degree in human development and differences, with a specialization in communication disorders. She’s been writing since she was a teenager and has been mentored by Ibi Zoboi, Radha Blank, and Emma Straub through the Girls Write Now program. Turning is her debut novel.

Website | Twitter | Goodreads


TBR and Beyond Book Tour Schedule: Turning

February 28th
Whispering Stories – Review & Favorite Quotes
Melancholic Blithe – Promotional Post

March 1st
Kait Plus Books – Interview
Artfully Bookish – Review & Mood Board

March 2nd
Nine Bookish Lives – Promotional Post
Cocoa With Books – Review

March 3rd
The Book Dutchesses – Interview
Books-N-Bullsh!t – Mood Board

March 4th
Lily’s Cozy Blog – Review & Favorite Quotes
Justice For Readers – Review & Mood Board

March 5th
Stuck in Fiction – Interview
Love, Paola – Journal Spread

March 6th
the nutty bookworm reads alot – Review
Cindy’s Love of Books – Review


Check out my other blog posts here!

TBR and Beyond Tours: Highly Suspicious and Unfairly Cute by Talia Hibbert

Highly Suspicious and Unfairly Cute by Talia Hibbert Release Date: January 3rd, 2023 Publisher: Joy Revolution Genre: Young Adult, Romance Pages: 336 Goodreads | The StoryGraph | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | Indiebound Synopsis From the New York Times bestselling author of the Brown Sisters trilogy, comes a laugh-out-loud story about…

Read More

TBR and Beyond Book Tour: The Dragon’s Promise by Elizabeth Lim

Synopsis From the New York Times Bestselling author of Six Crimson Cranes comes a thrilling new adventure! A journey to the kingdom of dragons, a star-crossed love, and a cursed pearl with the power to mend the world or break it… Fans of Shadow and Bone will devour this soaring fantasy. Princess Shiori made a deathbed promise to return the dragon’s…

Read More

Turn the Page Tours: Blood Like Fate by Liselle Sambury

Synopsis Voya fights to save her witch community from a terrible future. Voya Thomas may have passed her Calling to become a full-fledged witch, but the cost was higher than she’d ever imagined. Her grandmother is gone. Her cousin hates her. And her family doesn’t believe that she has what it takes to lead them.…

Read More

TBR and Beyond Tours: Etta Invincible by Reese Eschmann

Etta Invincible by Reese Eschmann Release Date: July 12th, 2022 Publisher: Aladdin Genre: Middle Grade Contemporary Pages: 368 Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | Indiebound Synopsis A girl with hearing loss and a boy adjusting to life in a new country connect through their love of comics and…

Read More

Colored Pages Tours: The Witchery by S. Isabelle

Synopsis Haelsford, Florida is a Hellmouth. Or at least, that’s what Logan, a baby witch struggling to control her powers, thinks as she arrives to the witchtown to begin the new school year at Mesmortes Coven Academy. She is immediately taken under the wing of the infamous Red Three. Iris is a deathwitch who wants…

Read More

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s