Our Violent Ends (These Violent Delights #2) by Chloe Gong

Our Violent Ends (These Violent Delights #2) by Chloe Gong

Release Date: November 16th, 2021

Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance, Historical

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | IndieBound | Indigo | BookShop.org


Synopsis

Shanghai is under siege in this captivating and searingly romantic sequel to These Violent Delights, which New York Times bestselling author Natasha Ngan calls “deliciously dark.”

The year is 1927, and Shanghai teeters on the edge of revolution.

After sacrificing her relationship with Roma to protect him from the blood feud, Juliette has been a girl on the warpath. One wrong move, and her cousin will step in to usurp her place as the Scarlet Gang’s heir. The only way to save the boy she loves from the wrath of the Scarlets is to have him want her dead for murdering his best friend in cold blood. If Juliette were actually guilty of the crime Roma believes she committed, his rejection might sting less.

Roma is still reeling from Marshall’s death, and his cousin Benedikt will barely speak to him. Roma knows it’s his fault for letting the ruthless Juliette back into his life, and he’s determined to set things right—even if that means killing the girl he hates and loves with equal measure.

Then a new monstrous danger emerges in the city, and though secrets keep them apart, Juliette must secure Roma’s cooperation if they are to end this threat once and for all. Shanghai is already at a boiling point: The Nationalists are marching in, whispers of civil war brew louder every day, and gangster rule faces complete annihilation. Roma and Juliette must put aside their differences to combat monsters and politics, but they aren’t prepared for the biggest threat of all: protecting their hearts from each other.


Review

Thank you to Turn the Page Tours and author Chloe Gong for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. The rest of the tour schedule can be found below!

The end of this wonderful duology is something I did not want to finish. I wanted to stay with Roma and Juliette forever, but sadly I knew that as a Romeo and Juliet retelling there were many things that could get in the way of that. Gong’s ability to perfectly close out this story with action, emotion, and finality is not something a lot of people can accomplish. The pacing of this second book was well-matched with the first and I was very satisfied with the acts of the story that Gong gave us.

We see so much growth from Juliette and Roma both during the duration of their story and their closing thoughts and actions really made the journey worth it. The love that they have for each other could not be replicated anywhere else than on the pages of this book. They blossomed into fully fleshed characters as I read and the depth of their character development will for sure make anyone emotional.

This explosive and heart-wrenching end to this duology did not disappoint and could honestly be one of my favorite books this year.


Giveaway for One (1) Finished Copy of both These Violent Delights and Our Violent Ends (US ONLY)


Meet the Author

Chloe Gong is an undergraduate at the University of Pennsylvania, studying English and International Relations. During her breaks, she’s either at home in New Zealand or visiting her many relatives in Shanghai. Chloe has been known to mysteriously appear by chanting “Romeo and Juliet is one of Shakespeare’s best plays and doesn’t deserve its slander in pop culture” into a mirror three times. You can find her on Twitter @thechloegong, check out her website at thechloegong.com or email her at chloegongwrites@gmail.com.

Website | Instagram | Twitter | Goodreads


Turn the Page Tour Schedule: Our Violent Ends

November 1st

Turn the Page Tours – Welcome Post

November 2nd

Confessions of a Reading Addict – Review

November 3rd

Quill Tree Fox – Review

November 4th

Emelie’s Books – Review

November 5th

Dear Rivarie – Review

November 8th

TeaTimeLit – Guest Post & Review
Rampant Reading Reviews – Review

November 9th

Uponthebooktower – Review
The Book Review Crew – Review

November 10th

peachnace – Review
Metaphors and Miscellanea – Review

November 11th

JD’s Book Journal – Review
Book Briefs – Review

November 12th

A Cup of Cyanide – Review
readherreviews – Review

November 15th

The Reading Chemist – Review
Lyrical Reads – Author Interview & Review
Moonlight Rendezvous – Review

November 16th

Stormy Reads YA – Review
Lauren’s Bookshelf – Review
Stuck in the Stacks – Review

November 17th

Books are Magic Too – Review
Literary Delirium – Review
Starlight Strands – Review

November 18th

Confessions of a YA Reader – Review
Ruei’s Reading Corner – Review
Justice for Readers – Review

November 19th

Wilted Pages – Review
Paper Blots – Review
Books and Bookish – Review


Check out the rest of my blog posts here!

TBR and Beyond Tours: Highly Suspicious and Unfairly Cute by Talia Hibbert

Highly Suspicious and Unfairly Cute by Talia Hibbert Release Date: January 3rd, 2023 Publisher: Joy Revolution Genre: Young Adult, Romance Pages: 336 Goodreads | The StoryGraph | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | Indiebound Synopsis From the New York Times bestselling author of the Brown Sisters trilogy, comes a laugh-out-loud story about…

Read More

TBR and Beyond Book Tour: The Dragon’s Promise by Elizabeth Lim

Synopsis From the New York Times Bestselling author of Six Crimson Cranes comes a thrilling new adventure! A journey to the kingdom of dragons, a star-crossed love, and a cursed pearl with the power to mend the world or break it… Fans of Shadow and Bone will devour this soaring fantasy. Princess Shiori made a deathbed promise to return the dragon’s…

Read More

Turn the Page Tours: Blood Like Fate by Liselle Sambury

Synopsis Voya fights to save her witch community from a terrible future. Voya Thomas may have passed her Calling to become a full-fledged witch, but the cost was higher than she’d ever imagined. Her grandmother is gone. Her cousin hates her. And her family doesn’t believe that she has what it takes to lead them.…

Read More

TBR and Beyond Tours: Etta Invincible by Reese Eschmann

Etta Invincible by Reese Eschmann Release Date: July 12th, 2022 Publisher: Aladdin Genre: Middle Grade Contemporary Pages: 368 Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | Indiebound Synopsis A girl with hearing loss and a boy adjusting to life in a new country connect through their love of comics and…

Read More

Colored Pages Tours: The Witchery by S. Isabelle

Synopsis Haelsford, Florida is a Hellmouth. Or at least, that’s what Logan, a baby witch struggling to control her powers, thinks as she arrives to the witchtown to begin the new school year at Mesmortes Coven Academy. She is immediately taken under the wing of the infamous Red Three. Iris is a deathwitch who wants…

Read More

One thought on “Our Violent Ends (These Violent Delights #2) by Chloe Gong

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s