Book Tour: The Night When No One Had Sex by Kalena Miller

The Night When No One Had Sex by: Kalena Miller

Release Date: October 12th, 2021

Publisher: Albert Whitman & Company

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

Pages: 304

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | IndieBound


Synopsis

It’s the night of senior prom, and eighteen-year-old Julia has made a pact with her friends. (Yes, that kind of pact.) They have secured a secluded cabin in the woods, one night without parental supervision, and plenty of condoms. But as soon as they leave the dance, the pact begins to unravel. Alex’s grandmother is undergoing emergency surgery, and he and his date rush to the hospital. Zoe’s trying to figure out how she feels about getting off the waitlist at Yale–and how to tell her girlfriend. Madison’s chronic illness flares, holding her back once again from being a normal teenager. And Julia’s fantasy-themed role play gets her locked in a closet. Alternating between each character’s perspective and their ridiculous group chat, The Night When No One Had Sex finds a group of friends navigating the tenuous transition into adulthood and embracing the uncertainty of life after high school…


Review

Thank you to TBR and Beyond Tours and author Kalena Miller for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. The rest of the Tour Schedule can be found below!

TNWNOHS is one of the most heartwarming reads I have read this year. I truly thought that this book was going to be wholly focused on virginity and the acts of sex, but it was honestly so much more than that. Our cast of characters are each unique in their personalities and the situation that they are in. This book tackled not only sex, but also illness, family troubles, and indecisiveness concerning the future. It wasn’t hard to get to know each of the characters when flipping through the different POVs. The pacing of the book was also really well done and this book could easily be read in one sitting! The text message conversations interwoven into the story were a great addition and a wonderful way to tie all of our characters to each other even though they’re not necessarily in the same place. This is honestly the perfect read for high schoolers and I wish this book had been around when I was in high school.


15 Reactions While Reading

Coming soon!


Meet the Author

Kalena Miller grew up in College Station, TX with her mom, dad, and the most photographed hamster in history. After high school, she moved a thousand miles north to attend Carleton College, where she graduated summa cum laude with a BA in Religious Studies. After a brief stint working as a paraeducator in Seattle, Kalena decided she missed school too much, so she spent the next two years pursuing her MFA in Creative Writing at Hamline University.

Kalena currently lives in Hopkins, Minnesota with her husband, Kenny, and Toy Australian Shepherd, Toshley. She writes middle grade and young adult fiction and co-authors narrative nonfiction with her mom, Kathy Miller (check out her website here). She loves books that make her laugh and make her cry, preferably at the same time, and she firmly believes all quality novels should feature a cat.

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Facebook


TBR and Beyond Tour Schedule: The Night When No One Had Sex

October 18th
PopTheButterfly Reads – Review
Lu is Lost in books – Review & Favourite Quotes
Book Me Some Time – Review

October 19th
Stuck in Fiction – Interview
The Broke Book Blog – Top 5 Reasons to Read The Night When No One Had Sex & TikTok
Justice For Readers – Review & 15 Reactions While Reading The Night When No One Had Sex

October 20th
Confessions of a YA Reader – Promo Post
Sheaf & Ink – Review

October 21st
Kait Plus Books – Interview
Bookworms Anonymous – Review
Unconventional Quirky Bibliophile – Review

October 22nd
The Book Dutchesses – Promo Post
I’m All Booked Up – 15 Reactions While Reading The Night When No One Had Sex

October 23rd
Nine Bookish Lives – Interview
Belle’s Archive – Promotional Post & TikTok
Jen Jen Reviews – Review

October 24th
Forthenovellovers – Review
Stitch’s Addiction – Review
Books With Michelle – Journal Spread & Top 5 Reasons to Read the Night When No One Had Sex


Check out my other blog posts here!

TBR and Beyond Tours: Highly Suspicious and Unfairly Cute by Talia Hibbert

Highly Suspicious and Unfairly Cute by Talia Hibbert Release Date: January 3rd, 2023 Publisher: Joy Revolution Genre: Young Adult, Romance Pages: 336 Goodreads | The StoryGraph | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | Indiebound Synopsis From the New York Times bestselling author of the Brown Sisters trilogy, comes a laugh-out-loud story about…

Read More

TBR and Beyond Book Tour: The Dragon’s Promise by Elizabeth Lim

Synopsis From the New York Times Bestselling author of Six Crimson Cranes comes a thrilling new adventure! A journey to the kingdom of dragons, a star-crossed love, and a cursed pearl with the power to mend the world or break it… Fans of Shadow and Bone will devour this soaring fantasy. Princess Shiori made a deathbed promise to return the dragon’s…

Read More

Turn the Page Tours: Blood Like Fate by Liselle Sambury

Synopsis Voya fights to save her witch community from a terrible future. Voya Thomas may have passed her Calling to become a full-fledged witch, but the cost was higher than she’d ever imagined. Her grandmother is gone. Her cousin hates her. And her family doesn’t believe that she has what it takes to lead them.…

Read More

TBR and Beyond Tours: Etta Invincible by Reese Eschmann

Etta Invincible by Reese Eschmann Release Date: July 12th, 2022 Publisher: Aladdin Genre: Middle Grade Contemporary Pages: 368 Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | Indiebound Synopsis A girl with hearing loss and a boy adjusting to life in a new country connect through their love of comics and…

Read More

Colored Pages Tours: The Witchery by S. Isabelle

Synopsis Haelsford, Florida is a Hellmouth. Or at least, that’s what Logan, a baby witch struggling to control her powers, thinks as she arrives to the witchtown to begin the new school year at Mesmortes Coven Academy. She is immediately taken under the wing of the infamous Red Three. Iris is a deathwitch who wants…

Read More

4 thoughts on “Book Tour: The Night When No One Had Sex by Kalena Miller

  1. Great review! I agree, my favorite part of The Night When No One Had Sex, were the group texts. They felt so authentic, hilarious, and utterly relatable.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s