The Keeper of Night by Kylie Lee Baker

The Keeper of Night by: Kylie Lee Baker

Release Date: October 12th, 2021

Publisher: Inkyard Press

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | IndieBound

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Synopsis

Death is her destiny.

Half British Reaper, half Japanese Shinigami, Ren Scarborough has been collecting souls in the London streets for centuries. Expected to obey the harsh hierarchy of the Reapers who despise her, Ren conceals her emotions and avoids her tormentors as best she can.

When her failure to control her Shinigami abilities drives Ren out of London, she flees to Japan to seek the acceptance she’s never gotten from her fellow Reapers. Accompanied by her younger brother, the only being on earth to care for her, Ren enters the Japanese underworld to serve the Goddess of Death… only to learn that here, too, she must prove herself worthy. Determined to earn respect, Ren accepts an impossible task—find and eliminate three dangerous Yokai demons—and learns how far she’ll go to claim her place at Death’s side.


Review

Thank you to TBR and Beyond Tours and author Kylie Lee Baker for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. The full Tour Schedule can be found below!

The Keeper of Night has easily become one of my favorite reads of this year. The opening scene immediately grasped my attention and beautifully introduced me to the world of reapers. It was also the perfect setup to show us Ren’s personality and how she views herself and the world. The foil between the two types of Reapers we encounter was perfectly balanced and a crucial part of Ren’s identity. The story was engaging and wonderfully written. The settings came alive on the page and the interactions between our characters moved our story forward in ways that wouldn’t have happened without Baker’s way with words.

I would recommend this book to readers who enjoy a good “light and dark” story. I cannot wait for the sequel!


Meet the Author

Kylie Lee Baker grew up in Boston and has since lived in Atlanta, Salamanca, and Seoul. Her work is informed by her heritage (Japanese, Chinese, & Irish) as well as her experiences living abroad as both a student and teacher. She has a BA in creative writing and Spanish from Emory University and is pursuing a master of library and information science degree at Simmons University. In her free time, she plays the cello, watches horror movies, and bakes too many cookies. The Keeper of Night is her debut novel.

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads


TBR and Beyond Tour Schedule: The Keeper of Night

October 11th
A Court of Coffee and Books – Interview & Top 5 Reasons to Read The Keeper of Night
Books Over Everything – Review
paperbacktomes – Review & Mood Board
Clouded Galaxy Reads – Review

October 12th
Stuck in Fiction – Promo Post
thisbellereadstoo – Review, Favorite Quotes & Mood Board
Books With Michelle – Review & Journal Spread

October 13th
An Ode to Fiction – Review, Playlist & Favorite Quotes
Books Forever – Review
The Bookwyrm’s Den – Review & Favorite Quotes

October 14th
Nine Bookish Lives – Promo Post
The Fictional Journal – Review

October 15th
AndOnSheReads – Interview
Discover Elysian – Review & Favorite Quotes
Book Lover’s Book Reviews – Review
Binded By Letters – Review & Favorite Quotes

October 16th
dinipandareads – Review & Top 5 Reasons to Read The Keeper of the Night
Confessions of a YA Reader – Review & Favorite Quotes

October 17th
Earthly Abode – Interview & 15 Reactions While Reading The Keeper of Night
Justice For Readers – Review
Books and Bookish – Review & Favorite Quotes
Quill Tree Fox – Review


Check out my other blog posts here!

TBR and Beyond Tours: Highly Suspicious and Unfairly Cute by Talia Hibbert

Highly Suspicious and Unfairly Cute by Talia Hibbert Release Date: January 3rd, 2023 Publisher: Joy Revolution Genre: Young Adult, Romance Pages: 336 Goodreads | The StoryGraph | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | Indiebound Synopsis From the New York Times bestselling author of the Brown Sisters trilogy, comes a laugh-out-loud story about…

Read More

TBR and Beyond Book Tour: The Dragon’s Promise by Elizabeth Lim

Synopsis From the New York Times Bestselling author of Six Crimson Cranes comes a thrilling new adventure! A journey to the kingdom of dragons, a star-crossed love, and a cursed pearl with the power to mend the world or break it… Fans of Shadow and Bone will devour this soaring fantasy. Princess Shiori made a deathbed promise to return the dragon’s…

Read More

Turn the Page Tours: Blood Like Fate by Liselle Sambury

Synopsis Voya fights to save her witch community from a terrible future. Voya Thomas may have passed her Calling to become a full-fledged witch, but the cost was higher than she’d ever imagined. Her grandmother is gone. Her cousin hates her. And her family doesn’t believe that she has what it takes to lead them.…

Read More

TBR and Beyond Tours: Etta Invincible by Reese Eschmann

Etta Invincible by Reese Eschmann Release Date: July 12th, 2022 Publisher: Aladdin Genre: Middle Grade Contemporary Pages: 368 Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | Indiebound Synopsis A girl with hearing loss and a boy adjusting to life in a new country connect through their love of comics and…

Read More

Colored Pages Tours: The Witchery by S. Isabelle

Synopsis Haelsford, Florida is a Hellmouth. Or at least, that’s what Logan, a baby witch struggling to control her powers, thinks as she arrives to the witchtown to begin the new school year at Mesmortes Coven Academy. She is immediately taken under the wing of the infamous Red Three. Iris is a deathwitch who wants…

Read More

4 thoughts on “The Keeper of Night by Kylie Lee Baker

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s