Book Tour: So Many Beginnings: A Little Women Remix by Bethany C. Morrow

So Many Beginnings: A Little Women Remix by: Bethany C. Morrow

Release Date: September 7th, 2021

Publisher: Feiwel Friends

Genre: Historical Fiction, Contemporary, Romance, Retelling

Pages: 304

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | IndieBound

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Synopsis

Four young Black sisters come of age during the American Civil War in So Many Beginnings, a warm and powerful YA remix of the classic novel Little Women by national bestselling author Bethany C. Morrow.

North Carolina, 1863. As the American Civil War rages on, the Freedmen’s Colony of Roanoke Island is blossoming, a haven for the recently emancipated. Black people have begun building a community of their own, a refuge from the shadow of the old life. It is where the March family has finally been able to safely put down roots with four young daughters:

Meg, a teacher who longs to find love and start a family of her own.

Jo, a writer whose words are too powerful to be contained.

Beth, a talented seamstress searching for a higher purpose.

Amy, a dancer eager to explore life outside her family’s home.

As the four March sisters come into their own as independent young women, they will face first love, health struggles, heartbreak, and new horizons. But they will face it all together.


Review

Thank you to Turn the Page Tours and author Bethany C. Morrow for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review! The rest of the tour schedule can be found below.

PLEASE! This book was everything. Any chance I have to get my hands on a book about black women I am going to do it. I am a huge fan of the original story as well as the many adaptions that were born from it. This was a retelling, yes, but it was so much more than that. We got to see this story told from a diverse perspective with fully developed characters who each had their own voice and story to tell. There were things about this retelling that were very reminiscent of the Little Women story that we know and love, the relationship between the girls, the relationship with their mom, how they work as a family unit. But, our cast of black characters in a post-slavery environment made for a genuinely unique story about hope, love, ambition, and family. Each sister had their own life goals and ambitions and they were clearly drawn out through the novel. It was very satisfying to see each of the girls’ journeys.

Although the book is only about 300 pages, Morrow was able to pack so much character development and story details into its pages. If the book had been as long as the original work I feel like I would have read it with the same fervor. The pacing was nice and the writing felt very comfortable and easy to get through. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who loves the story of Little Women.


Mood Board


Meet the Author

A somewhat-recovering expat living in the American Northeast (with one foot still firmly planted in Quebec), Bethany C Morrow writes speculative fiction for both the adult and the young adult market.

Her adult debut, MEM, was an ABA 2018 Indies Introduce pick, and a June Indie Next pick, and was featured/reviewed in: Locus Magazine, the LA Times, Buzzfeed, Book Riot, Bustle, and Tor.com, among others.

She was editor and contributor to TAKE THE MIC: Fictional Stories of Everyday Resistance, which released with AAL/Scholastic in October 2019.

Bethany’s YA debut,, A SONG BELOW WATER is a contemporary fantasy, and releases in June 2020.

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads


Turn the Page Tour Schedule: So Many Beginnings

September 6

Turn the Page Tours – Welcome Post
Antonique_reads – Book Review

September 7

Booksenvogue – Instagram Reel
Curls, Pops and Spines – Book Review, Favorite Quotes
The.book.nerd.fox – Book Review

September 8

Nicollettereads – Book Review
Rampant_reading – Book Cover/Character Art

September 9

Thereadingroom444 – Instagram Reel
Sheaf and Ink – Book Review
Thereadingcornerforall – Book Review

September 10

DJreadsbooks – Book Review
Lilly_sreads – Book Review
Booksaremagictoo – Book Review

September 11

Justice for Readers – Book Review, Mood Board
Onemused – Book Review

September 12

Novelsistah – Mood Board
Brittaneybookishblog – Author Interview
Cocoawithbooks – Book Review
Reading Stewardess – Book Review


Check out my other blog posts here!

TBR and Beyond Tours: Highly Suspicious and Unfairly Cute by Talia Hibbert

Highly Suspicious and Unfairly Cute by Talia Hibbert Release Date: January 3rd, 2023 Publisher: Joy Revolution Genre: Young Adult, Romance Pages: 336 Goodreads | The StoryGraph | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | Indiebound Synopsis From the New York Times bestselling author of the Brown Sisters trilogy, comes a laugh-out-loud story about…

Read More

TBR and Beyond Book Tour: The Dragon’s Promise by Elizabeth Lim

Synopsis From the New York Times Bestselling author of Six Crimson Cranes comes a thrilling new adventure! A journey to the kingdom of dragons, a star-crossed love, and a cursed pearl with the power to mend the world or break it… Fans of Shadow and Bone will devour this soaring fantasy. Princess Shiori made a deathbed promise to return the dragon’s…

Read More

Turn the Page Tours: Blood Like Fate by Liselle Sambury

Synopsis Voya fights to save her witch community from a terrible future. Voya Thomas may have passed her Calling to become a full-fledged witch, but the cost was higher than she’d ever imagined. Her grandmother is gone. Her cousin hates her. And her family doesn’t believe that she has what it takes to lead them.…

Read More

TBR and Beyond Tours: Etta Invincible by Reese Eschmann

Etta Invincible by Reese Eschmann Release Date: July 12th, 2022 Publisher: Aladdin Genre: Middle Grade Contemporary Pages: 368 Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | Indiebound Synopsis A girl with hearing loss and a boy adjusting to life in a new country connect through their love of comics and…

Read More

Colored Pages Tours: The Witchery by S. Isabelle

Synopsis Haelsford, Florida is a Hellmouth. Or at least, that’s what Logan, a baby witch struggling to control her powers, thinks as she arrives to the witchtown to begin the new school year at Mesmortes Coven Academy. She is immediately taken under the wing of the infamous Red Three. Iris is a deathwitch who wants…

Read More

One thought on “Book Tour: So Many Beginnings: A Little Women Remix by Bethany C. Morrow

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s