Book Tour: It Ends in Fire by Andrew Shvarts

It Ends in Fire by: Andrew Shvarts

Release Date: July 6th, 2021

Publisher: Little, Brown

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Pages: 384

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | IndieBound

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Synopsis

ALKA CHELRAZI IS ON A MISSION:
1. Infiltrate Blackwater Academy
2. Win the Great Game
3. Burn Wizard society to the ground

As a child, Alka witnessed her parents’ brutal murder at the hands of Wizards before she was taken in by an underground rebel group.

Now, Alka is deep undercover at the most prestigious school of magic in the Republic: Blackwater Academy, a place where status is everything, where decadent galas end in blood-splattered duels, where every student has their own agenda. To survive, Alka will have to lie, cheat, kill, and use every trick in her spy’s toolkit. And for the first time in her life, the fiercely independent Alka will have to make friends in order to recruit the misfits and the outcasts into her motley rebellion.

But even as she draws closer to victory — to vengeance — she sinks deeper into danger as suspicious professors and murderous rivals seek the traitor in their midst, and dark revelations unravel her resolve. Can Alka destroy the twisted game…without becoming a part of it?


Review

Thank you immensely to TBR and Beyond Tours and author Andrew Shvarts for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. The full tour schedule can be found below!

I was very confidant that I was going to love this book before I even picked it up. A school for magic?? Immediately hooked. I thoroughly enjoyed this story and the direction that Shvarts decided to take it. The setting at Blackwater Academy was well written and for sure gave me slight dark academia vibes. It was very interesting to see the student’s go through their lessons and interact with our MC, Alka. The magic system was very well done and I felt that I had a handle on how the magic system worked within the first 100 pages, which is crucial for me when reading a fantasy novel.

Alka is also a very real and authentic character for me. Her emotions and decisions she makes throughout her journey are very realistic and she reminds me a lot of myself in terms of her determination and headstrongness. I definitely would love to see more of her, but as this is a standalone I will have to say goodbye ;( .

There was also a great transition to the story-telling. The flip flop between past and present allowed for a nice flow of information without overwhelming me with details about the world and the magic system. The plot had a very nice pace to it as well and you could easily read this book in one sitting. I really didn’t want this story to end. I for sure recommend this book to anyone who likes magic with a little academia sprinkled in.


Mood Board


Playlist


Meet the Author

Andrew Shvarts is the author of the Royal Bastards trilogy. He has a BA in English Literature and Russian from Vassar College. He works for Pixelberry Studios, making mobile games like High School Story, Choices, and more. Andrew lives in San Jose, California, with his wife, son, and two cats.

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads


Tour Schedule: It Ends in Fire

July 5th
Kait Plus Books – Interview
TLC Book Nook – Review & Mood Board

July 6th
The Book Dutchesses – Review
DJREADSBOOKS – Review & Favourite Quotes
Justice For Readers – Review, Playlist & Mood Board

July 7th
Shelf Love – Interview
Books Over Everything – Review
Your Words My Ink – Review & Favourite Quotes

July 8th
Nine Bookish Lives – Review
Paperbacks and Planners – Review & Journal Spread
The Momma Spot – Review

July 9th
Confessions of a YA Reader – Review & Favourite Quotes
Rajiv’s Reviews – Review
Popthebutterfly Reads – Review

July 10th
Stuck in the Stacks – Interview & Review
Thindbooks Blog – Review
I Dream in Books – Review & Favourite Quotes

July 11th
Stuck in Fiction – Top 5 Reasons to Read It Ends in Fire
Gwendalyn’s Books – Review


Check out my other blog posts here!

TBR and Beyond Tours: Highly Suspicious and Unfairly Cute by Talia Hibbert

Highly Suspicious and Unfairly Cute by Talia Hibbert Release Date: January 3rd, 2023 Publisher: Joy Revolution Genre: Young Adult, Romance Pages: 336 Goodreads | The StoryGraph | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | Indiebound Synopsis From the New York Times bestselling author of the Brown Sisters trilogy, comes a laugh-out-loud story about…

Read More

TBR and Beyond Book Tour: The Dragon’s Promise by Elizabeth Lim

Synopsis From the New York Times Bestselling author of Six Crimson Cranes comes a thrilling new adventure! A journey to the kingdom of dragons, a star-crossed love, and a cursed pearl with the power to mend the world or break it… Fans of Shadow and Bone will devour this soaring fantasy. Princess Shiori made a deathbed promise to return the dragon’s…

Read More

Turn the Page Tours: Blood Like Fate by Liselle Sambury

Synopsis Voya fights to save her witch community from a terrible future. Voya Thomas may have passed her Calling to become a full-fledged witch, but the cost was higher than she’d ever imagined. Her grandmother is gone. Her cousin hates her. And her family doesn’t believe that she has what it takes to lead them.…

Read More

TBR and Beyond Tours: Etta Invincible by Reese Eschmann

Etta Invincible by Reese Eschmann Release Date: July 12th, 2022 Publisher: Aladdin Genre: Middle Grade Contemporary Pages: 368 Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | Indiebound Synopsis A girl with hearing loss and a boy adjusting to life in a new country connect through their love of comics and…

Read More

Colored Pages Tours: The Witchery by S. Isabelle

Synopsis Haelsford, Florida is a Hellmouth. Or at least, that’s what Logan, a baby witch struggling to control her powers, thinks as she arrives to the witchtown to begin the new school year at Mesmortes Coven Academy. She is immediately taken under the wing of the infamous Red Three. Iris is a deathwitch who wants…

Read More

One thought on “Book Tour: It Ends in Fire by Andrew Shvarts

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s