Book Tour: The Last Shadow Warrior by Sam Subity

The Last Shadow Warrior by: Sam Subity

Release Date: May 4th, 2021

Publisher: Scholastic Press

Genre: Middle Grade, Fantasy

Pages: 320

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo Books | IndieBound

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Synopsis

Content Warnings: Main characters’s mother has died four years earlier and her father is critically injured and hospitalized for most of the book.

Twelve-year-old Abby Beckett is proud to come from a long line of elite Viking warriors known as the Aesir. She’s spent her entire life training to hunt the horrific creatures known as Grendels – the ancient foe of the Aesir – just like her mother did before she died. But there’s just one, small problem: No one has seen a Grendel in centuries, and the Viking Council wants to disband the Aesir . . . forever.

When her father is injured in an attack that leaves him in a coma, Abby is forced to take refuge at Vale Hall, a mysterious school in Minnesota where nothing is quite as it seems. She soon discovers the tables have turned and a Grendel is hunting her, but when she tries to alert the Viking Council, they accuse her of making up stories for attention . . . just like her mother did.

Desperate to protect her father and clear her mother’s name, Abby goes on a dangerous quest to discover the truth–a journey that brings her face-to-face with some unlikely foes, including a Ping-Pong-playing sea monster with a wicked backhand, and a dark Valkyrie with a fondness for bingo. Abby quickly realizes that someone at the school is trying to stop her progress and destroy the Aesir for good. And only she can unravel the sinister plot before it’s too late.


Review

Thank you to TBR and Beyond Tours and author Sam Subity for providing a copy of The Last Shadow Warrior to me in exchange for an honest review.

Norse mythology is by far my favorite mythology and one of my favorite courses in college was definitely my Viking Mythology course. Subity’s rich story about Abby and her friends on a dangerous mission to save the only family she has left was extraordinarily written and remarkable. I loved the pacing of the story as well as the friendship that forms between our main characters. The pacing is perfect and I didn’t want to put this book down at all. Our heroes face very real, dark issues in their quest and this is tackled really well by Subity. This Beowulf inspired middle grade fantasy will certainly not disappoint any prospective readers. If you loved the Percy Jackson series, you will definitely want to pick this book up.


Favorite Quotes

“Most people spend their lives collecting secrets.”

Chapter 1, The Shadow Darker Than Night

“…I knew that whatever the future held, I had my dad, … and new friends to help me find the answers.

Chapter 29, An Unexpected Visitor

Mood Board


Giveaway for ONE (1) signed finished copy of The Last Shadow Warrior (US only)

a Rafflecopter giveaway https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

Meet the Author

Sam Subity loves writing stories that explore the magic and wonder of being a kid and is thrilled to share his writing with readers everywhere—both the young in age and the young at heart. 

When he’s not writing, you might find him running the trails of northern California where the endless, winding miles past fog and ocean inspire stories of adventure and mystery. 

Or he might be mowing his lawn. Because that’s what adults sometimes have to do. 

But in either case, Sam Subity is very likely imagining himself fighting mythical creatures or at the prow of a dragon ship feeling the wind and sea spray on his face alongside his own Viking queen and their two Vikelets. His greatest hope is that in reading his books, you too may be transported to another place where, for a little while, you can exchange the ordinary for the extraordinary. 

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Facebook


TBR and Beyond Book Tour Schedule: The Last Shadow Warrior

May 24th
DJREADSBOOKS – Review & Favourite Quotes
Moonlight Rendezvous – Review
Stuck in Fiction – Top 5 Reasons to Read The Last Shadow Warrior

May 25th
Pages & Plots – Promo Post
I dream in Books – Review & Favourite Quotes
PopTheButterfly Reads – Review
Nine Bookish Lives – Promo Post

May 26th
Confessions of a YA Reader – Promo Post
thisbellereadstoo – Review & Mood Board
Brooklyn Blogs Books – Review & Mood Board

May 27th
Gwendalyn’s Books – Review
Justice For Readers – Review, Favourite Quotes & Mood Board
A Court of Coffee and Books – Interview

May 28th
Kait Plus Books – Interview
The Writer’s Alley – Review, Favourite Quotes, & Mood Board
Book Notes by Athina – Review

May 29th
Books. Iced Lattes. Blessed. – Review
Trapped Inside Stories – Interview
thebookdutchesses – Review

May 30th
Storme Reads A Lot – Creative Post – Middle Grade List
Celia’s Reads – Review
Books and Everything in Between – Review & Favourite Quotes

Instagram Schedule

May 24th
djreadsbooks – Review
moonlight_rendezvous – Blogger’s Choice
feliciareads11 – Top Five Reasons To Read The Last Shadow Warrior

May 25th
idreaminbooks – Blogger’s Choice
popthebutterfly – Blogger’s Choice
ninebookishlives – Promo

May 26th
brooklynblogsbooks – Blogger’s Choice
fangirlpixiebooks – Promo
jypsylynn – Review
tinybooknest – Review & Favourite Quotes

May 27th
kathreadsya – Review
justiceforreaders – Blogger’s Choice
acourtofcoffeeandbooksblog – Blogger’s Choice
gwendalyn_books – Blogger’s Choice

May 28th
kaitplusbooks – Blogger’s Choice
jrundy85 – Blogger’s Choice
trappedinsidestories – Blogger’s Choice
booknotes_athina – Blogger’s Choice

May 29th
ashton_reads – Review & Mood Board
tbrandbeyond – Promo
thebookdutchesses – Review

May 30th
stormereadsalot – Blogger’s Choice
books.n.everythinginbetween – Blogger’s Choice
ficticiouswonderland – Review
hturningpages – Favourite Quotes & Top 5 Reasons to Read The Last Warrior


Check out my other blog posts here!

Book Tour: The Ivies by Alexa Donne

Synopsis Everyone knows the Ivies: the most coveted universities in the United States. Far more important are the Ivies. The Ivies at Claflin Academy, that is. Five girls with the same mission: to get into the Ivy League by any means necessary. I would know. I’m one of them. We disrupt class ranks, club leaderships, […]

Read More

Book Tour: The Firebird Song

Synopsis Debut author Arnée Flores spins an exciting and original tale about hope in even the darkest of places, perfect for fans of Shannon Hale. The Kingdom of Lyrica was once warm and thriving, kept safe by the Firebird, whose feather and song was a blessing of peace and prosperity. But the Firebird disappeared, and Lyrica […]

Read More

Book Tour: Son of the STorm by Suyi Davies Okungbowa

On-page Representation African/Black Albinism Disability Nonbinary Pan/polysexual Trigger and Content Warnings Ageism Bones Colourism/discrimination Emotionally manipulative relationship Fire Misogyny Pain Pregnancy and miscarriage/abortion Violence, blood and murder Synopsis A young scholar’s ambition threatens to reshape an empire determined to retain its might in this epic tale of violent conquest, buried histories, and forbidden magic. In […]

Read More

Book Tour: The Other Side oF Perfect by Mariko Turk

Synopsis Content Warning: protagonist is dealing with a lot of anger and some depression, various experiences of racism Alina Keeler was destined to dance, but one terrifying fall shatters her leg–and her dreams of a professional ballet career along with it.  After a summer healing (translation: eating vast amounts of Cool Ranch Doritos and binging […]

Read More

Book Tour and Author Interview: The Ones We’re Meant to Find

Synopsis Content Warning: terminal illness, suicide, violence (including choking), death, death of parent (off page), vomiting, large scale natural disasters and mass casualties, some gore. One of the most twisty, surprising, engaging page-turner YAs you’ll read this year—We Were Liars with sci-fi scope, Lost with a satisfying resolution. Cee awoke on an abandoned island three years ago. With […]

Read More

Book Tour: Sugar and Spite by Gail D. Villanueva

Synopsis Can a bully be defeated by a magical love potion? Jolina can’t take Claudine’s bullying any longer! The taunts and teasing are too much. Though Jolina knows she’s still in-training to use her grandfather’s arbularyo magic, she sneaks into his potions lab to get her revenge. Jolina brews a batch of gayuma, a powerful […]

Read More

2 thoughts on “Book Tour: The Last Shadow Warrior by Sam Subity

  1. ooh i love the moodboard!! i love norse mythology so much, and there’s just something so exciting about it that will always make me pick up books with norse mythology in them~ great review, i’ll add this book to my TBR!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s