Book Tour: The Ivies by Alexa Donne

The Ivies by: Alexa Donne

Release Date: May 25th, 2021

Publisher: Crown

Genre: Young Adult, Thriller, Mystery, Contemporary

Pages: 320

Goodreads | Bookshop

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Synopsis

Everyone knows the Ivies: the most coveted universities in the United States. Far more important are the Ivies. The Ivies at Claflin Academy, that is. Five girls with the same mission: to get into the Ivy League by any means necessary. I would know. I’m one of them. We disrupt class ranks, club leaderships, and academic competitions…among other things. We improve our own odds by decreasing the fortunes of others. Because hyper-elite competitive college admissions is serious business. And in some cases, it’s deadly.

Alexa Donne delivers a nail-biting and timely thriller about teens who will stop at nothing to get into the college of their dreams. Too bad no one told them murder isn’t an extracurricular.


Review

Thank you to Turn the Page Tours and author Alexa Donne for gifting me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

I am always down for a good boarding school mystery and Donne certainly did not disappoint with this page-turner about ruthless teenagers who want to make it into one of the Ivies, no matter what. The plot of this story was very solid and a really great thriller. One of the girls in this group of friends gets into an altercation with the other, but one of them turns up dead the next day. Reading through this story will make you second-guess who you think did it multiple times and Donne even throws quite a few twists in there to keep you on your toes.

The characters in this book were also interesting and made sense with the plot. Our main character, Olivia, takes you on an investigative journey to find out who murdered Emma and why. I truly didn’t want it to end. I definitely recommend this book to high schoolers and readers of YA alike. Definitely a book to add to your dark academia TBR lists.


Giveaway for ONE (1) finished copy of The Ivies by Alexa Donne (US only)


Meet the Author

Alexa Donne is the author of Brightly Burning and The Stars We Steal, YA sci-fi romance retellings of classics set in space out now from Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. Her next YA, THE IVIES, a thriller set in the world of competitive college admissions, will be out in May 2021 from Crown/Random House. A graduate of Boston University, she works in TV marketing and has done pro bono college admissions mentoring since 2014. A true INFJ, in her “free” time she mentors with WriteGirl, runs the Author Mentor Match program, and manages one of the most popular writing advice channels on YouTube. She lives in Los Angeles with two fluffy ginger cats named after YA literature characters. You can find her in most places @alexadonne.

Website | YouTube | Twitter | Instagram


Turn the Page Tours Schedule: The Ivies

Blog Tour

May 23rd

Turn the Page Tours – Welcome Post
Book Briefs – Review
DJREADSBOOKS – Review

May 24th

Bookshelf Life – Review
Twirling Book Princess – Review
The Scribe Owl – Review

May 25th

TeaTimeLit – Review
The Book View – Review
Justice for Readers – Review

May 26th

Regal Reads – Review
Stuck in the Stacks – Review
Kait Plus Books – Review

May 27th

Stacia Loves to Read – Review
Confessions of a YA Reader – Review
The Inharmonious Heroine – Review

May 28th

Sophie’s Corner – Review
Into the Spare Oom – Review
Windows to Worlds – Review

May 29th

Buried in Books – Review
The Tattooed Librarian – Review
The Never Ending Chronicles of Jawahir the Bookworm – Review

BookTube Tour

May 23rd

capricioushelen – Review
Yna the Mood Reader – Review & Thoughts While Reading
Everything plus Everything – Author Interview & 5 Outfits Based on The Ivies MISSING

May 24th

XannasBooks – Review & Thoughts while Reading
Beautifully Bookish Bethany – Author Interview

May 25th

Shellyflowers Reads and Writes – Review, Writing Workshop Based on The Ivies & Book-Inspired Make-Up Tutorial
Madison Estes – Review & 5 Outfits Based on The Ivies

May 26th

Books on Stereo – Review & Author Interview
Inquillery – Review, Thoughts while Reading & Songs to Listen to while Reading The Ivies
Braden’s All About Books – Review & Reading Vlog with Book-based Outfits
Kelley Tai – Thoughts while Reading & 5 Outfits Based on The Ivies

May 27th

Booktube Goddess – Book-Inspired Make-Up Tutorial & Author Interview
Bookish Cousin – Review, 5 Outfits Based on The Ivies & Songs to Listen to while Reading The Ivies
Aliciadreams – Review & Thoughts While Reading

May 28th

Starred Pages – Review
One Page at a Time – Review & Author Interview

May 29th

Sassybooksquirrel – Review & Author Interview
tropetrinitytrilogy – Review
Lauren Sevier – Review, Book-Inspired Make-Up Tutorial & Songs to Listen to while Reading The Ivies


Check out my other blog posts here!

TBR and Beyond Tours: Highly Suspicious and Unfairly Cute by Talia Hibbert

Highly Suspicious and Unfairly Cute by Talia Hibbert Release Date: January 3rd, 2023 Publisher: Joy Revolution Genre: Young Adult, Romance Pages: 336 Goodreads | The StoryGraph | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | Indiebound Synopsis From the New York Times bestselling author of the Brown Sisters trilogy, comes a laugh-out-loud story about…

Read More

TBR and Beyond Book Tour: The Dragon’s Promise by Elizabeth Lim

Synopsis From the New York Times Bestselling author of Six Crimson Cranes comes a thrilling new adventure! A journey to the kingdom of dragons, a star-crossed love, and a cursed pearl with the power to mend the world or break it… Fans of Shadow and Bone will devour this soaring fantasy. Princess Shiori made a deathbed promise to return the dragon’s…

Read More

Turn the Page Tours: Blood Like Fate by Liselle Sambury

Synopsis Voya fights to save her witch community from a terrible future. Voya Thomas may have passed her Calling to become a full-fledged witch, but the cost was higher than she’d ever imagined. Her grandmother is gone. Her cousin hates her. And her family doesn’t believe that she has what it takes to lead them.…

Read More

TBR and Beyond Tours: Etta Invincible by Reese Eschmann

Etta Invincible by Reese Eschmann Release Date: July 12th, 2022 Publisher: Aladdin Genre: Middle Grade Contemporary Pages: 368 Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | Indiebound Synopsis A girl with hearing loss and a boy adjusting to life in a new country connect through their love of comics and…

Read More

Colored Pages Tours: The Witchery by S. Isabelle

Synopsis Haelsford, Florida is a Hellmouth. Or at least, that’s what Logan, a baby witch struggling to control her powers, thinks as she arrives to the witchtown to begin the new school year at Mesmortes Coven Academy. She is immediately taken under the wing of the infamous Red Three. Iris is a deathwitch who wants…

Read More

One thought on “Book Tour: The Ivies by Alexa Donne

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s