Book Tour: Sugar and Spite by Gail D. Villanueva

Sugar and Spite by: Gail D. Villanueva

Release Date: April 20th, 2021

Publisher: Scholastic Press

Genre: Middle Grade, Contemporary Fantasy

Pages: 208

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | IndieBound

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Cover Artist: Abigail L. Dela Cruz

Cover Designer: Bailey Crawford


Synopsis

Can a bully be defeated by a magical love potion?

Jolina can’t take Claudine’s bullying any longer! The taunts and teasing are too much. Though Jolina knows she’s still in-training to use her grandfather’s arbularyo magic, she sneaks into his potions lab to get her revenge. Jolina brews a batch of gayuma, a powerful love potion.

And it works. The love potion conquers Claudine’s hateful nature. In fact, Claudine doesn’t just stop bullying Jolina-now she wants to be Jolina’s BFF, and does everything and anything Jolina asks.

But magic comes with a cost, and bad intentions beget bad returns. Controlling another person’s ability to love-or hate-will certainly have consequences. The magic demands payment, and it is about to come for Jolina in the form of a powerful storm…

Magic and reality mingle in this brilliant new middle-grade novel by Gail D. Villanueva that asks whether it’s ever okay to take away someone’s free will.


Review

Thank you immensely to TBR and Beyond Tours, author Gail D. Villanueva, and Scholastic Press for gifting me an ARC of this novel. Please check out the rest of the Tour Schedule here!

I have always loved Middle Grade books and I still love them so much to this day. However, I haven’t read many of them since I started back reading again last year. Villanueva’s new Middle Grade novel is the perfect book to launch myself back into reading MG. This Own-Voices novel wonderfully presents Filipino culture and unapologetically tackles many issues including bullying, colorism, loss, and natural disasters. Villanueva’s writing is perfect for Middle Grade readers and beyond. She will have your laughing one minute and frowning the next (but in a good way!).

Jolina is a fantastic character! She is caring, smart, and just an all-around likeable character. Having to move from one place to another is not an easy task for anyone and having to deal with bullying on top of it just makes it even that more difficult. The way that Jolina handles her bullying situation is really the substance of the whole story, but it makes for one wild and fantastical ride. Jolina has to come to terms with the decisions she has made and it was heartwarming to watch her journey throughout this book.

I would definitely recommend this book to young readers who are looking for a a fun, magical adventure that tackles real-world issues as well.


Mood Board


Giveaway for 1 Annotated ARC of Sugar and Spite (Open Internationally)

a Rafflecopter giveaway https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

Meet the Author

Gail D. Villanueva is the author of Sugar And Spite (Scholastic, 2021). Her debut novel, My Fate According to the Butterfly (Scholastic, 2019), was named a Best Book of the Year by Kirkus Reviews, an Amazon Best Book of the Month Editor’s Pick, and a NCSS-CBC Notable Social Studies Trade Book for Young People. Born and based in the Philippines, Gail’s daily routine includes running a web design company with her husband while trying to keep up with the shenanigans of their many pets—dogs, ducks, turtles, cats, and random birds they befriend in the backyard. Learn more at www.gaildvillanueva.com.

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Facebook



Meet the Cover Designer

Baily Crawford is an illustrator and designer and writer and dog mom and runner and karaoke enthusiast. She attended Pratt institute in Brooklyn, NY where she studied communications design with an emphasis in illustration and a minor creative writing. Currently she works in animation, as a background layout designer for Augenblick Studios. Before that she worked in publishing for 4 years as a book designer at Scholastic Publishing.
Baily is eager to learn as much as she can. She’s excited to push the envelope, and has a quirk to her work that is uncompromising. She prides herself most in her conceptual thinking and her ability to communicate ideas through artwork and about it. She’s been featured in Spine Magazine, 3×3 magazine and she won the student scholarship to SCBWI LA (She’s still holding on to that.)

Website | Instagram | BeHance | Fem Foundry


Check out my other blog posts here!

Book Tour: The Last Shadow Warrior by Sam Subity

Synopsis Content Warnings: Main characters’s mother has died four years earlier and her father is critically injured and hospitalized for most of the book. Twelve-year-old Abby Beckett is proud to come from a long line of elite Viking warriors known as the Aesir. She’s spent her entire life training to hunt the horrific creatures known […]

Read More

Book Tour: The Ivies by Alexa Donne

Synopsis Everyone knows the Ivies: the most coveted universities in the United States. Far more important are the Ivies. The Ivies at Claflin Academy, that is. Five girls with the same mission: to get into the Ivy League by any means necessary. I would know. I’m one of them. We disrupt class ranks, club leaderships, […]

Read More

Book Tour: The Firebird Song

Synopsis Debut author Arnée Flores spins an exciting and original tale about hope in even the darkest of places, perfect for fans of Shannon Hale. The Kingdom of Lyrica was once warm and thriving, kept safe by the Firebird, whose feather and song was a blessing of peace and prosperity. But the Firebird disappeared, and Lyrica […]

Read More

Book Tour: Son of the STorm by Suyi Davies Okungbowa

On-page Representation African/Black Albinism Disability Nonbinary Pan/polysexual Trigger and Content Warnings Ageism Bones Colourism/discrimination Emotionally manipulative relationship Fire Misogyny Pain Pregnancy and miscarriage/abortion Violence, blood and murder Synopsis A young scholar’s ambition threatens to reshape an empire determined to retain its might in this epic tale of violent conquest, buried histories, and forbidden magic. In […]

Read More

Book Tour: The Other Side oF Perfect by Mariko Turk

Synopsis Content Warning: protagonist is dealing with a lot of anger and some depression, various experiences of racism Alina Keeler was destined to dance, but one terrifying fall shatters her leg–and her dreams of a professional ballet career along with it.  After a summer healing (translation: eating vast amounts of Cool Ranch Doritos and binging […]

Read More

Book Tour and Author Interview: The Ones We’re Meant to Find

Synopsis Content Warning: terminal illness, suicide, violence (including choking), death, death of parent (off page), vomiting, large scale natural disasters and mass casualties, some gore. One of the most twisty, surprising, engaging page-turner YAs you’ll read this year—We Were Liars with sci-fi scope, Lost with a satisfying resolution. Cee awoke on an abandoned island three years ago. With […]

Read More

One thought on “Book Tour: Sugar and Spite by Gail D. Villanueva

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s