Book Tour: The Infinity Courts by Akemi Dawn Bowman

The Infinity Courts by: Akemi Dawn Bowman

Release Date: April 6th, 2021

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Sci-Fi

Pages: 482

Goodreads | Bookshop

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Cover Artist: Casey Weldon

Cover Designer: Laura Eckes


Synopsis

Eighteen-year-old Nami Miyamoto is certain her life is just beginning. She has a great family, just graduated high school, and is on her way to a party where her entire class is waiting for her—including, most importantly, the boy she’s been in love with for years.

The only problem? She’s murdered before she gets there.

When Nami wakes up, she learns she’s in a place called Infinity, where human consciousness goes when physical bodies die. She quickly discovers that Ophelia, a virtual assistant widely used by humans on Earth, has taken over the afterlife and is now posing as a queen, forcing humans into servitude the way she’d been forced to serve in the real world. Even worse, Ophelia is inching closer and closer to accomplishing her grand plans of eradicating human existence once and for all.

As Nami works with a team of rebels to bring down Ophelia and save the humans under her imprisonment, she is forced to reckon with her past, her future, and what it is that truly makes us human. From award-winning author Akemi Dawn Bowman comes an incisive, action-packed tale that explores big questions about technology, grief, love, and humanity.


Review

Thank you immensely to Turn the Page Tours, author Akemi Dawn Bowman, and Simon Pulse for gifting me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review and allowing me to be on this book tour.

The Infinity Courts unique storyline really prompts you to think about how you use technology and AI in your daily life and the affect it could have on your future. Thinking about how much I say “Alexa” or “Siri” on any given day makes me feel sort of sad, especially after reading about how Ophelia feels in this novel.

The story itself is truly unique. I have never thought about the possibility that something other than a spirit would be controlling the afterlife of humans. Ophelia is the equivalent of the Alexas and Siris of today, but this AI has developed into something all-encompassing and also developed consciousness. I have to admit, this portion of the story was somewhat frightening to me. After being told what to do on the daily from who knows how many humans on earth, Ophelia is tired and wants to become one with the human world as well as the afterlife. Now, I am not saying that what Ophelia is doing to the souls in the afterlife is good or justified, buttt I can understand where she’s coming from.

After Nami dies, she enters the afterlife where Ophelia rules, the Infinity. As Nami tries to prevent Ophelia from taking over the human world, she reflects on how she felt towards Ophelia when was just a piece of AI back home. This definitely allowed the story to come full circle in terms of how we feel, as readers, towards Nami and Ophelia.

The characters can also be frustrating at times, but they were still lovable none the less. Nami frustrated me mainly because she doesn’t know how to take advice, which is fine! I don’t know how to take advice either on a good day. I truly believe that sometimes we forget that characters in books are allowed to have flaws just like real people do. But, something that made me really love Nami was the love she had for her sister and her fight to make sure her sister stays safe. It was just a beautiful addition to the story.

If you’re a fan of black mirror, AI, love, and sacrifice, then The Infinity Courts is the right novel for you. Definitely put this on your TBR and pick it up or request it at your library if you can.


Enter this Giveaway for a chance to win 1 of (2) copies of The Infinity Courts by Akemi Dawn Bowman


Turn the Page Tours: The Infinity Courts Launch Post

*includes tour schedule


Meet the Author

Akemi Dawn Bowman is a critically-acclaimed author who writes across genres. Her novels have received multiple accolades and award nominations, and her debut novel, STARFISH, was a William C. Morris Award Finalist. She has a BA in social sciences from the University of Nevada, Las Vegas, and currently lives in Scotland with her husband and two children. She overthinks everything, including this bio.

Website | Instagram | Twitter | Goodreads


Meet the Cover Artist

Casey Weldon

Shop | Instagram


Meet the Cover Designer

Hello! 

I’m a Designer at Simon and Schuster, as well as a freelance illustrator, and author of Doodle Bug Diaries.

My work has been featured in the New York Book Show, Entertainment Weekly and Spine Magazine.

I like stale Oreos and do not like statues anywhere near water. I usually have the Brace Face theme song stuck in my head.

Please contact me at lauraeckes@gmail.com for any inquiries!

Website | Instagram


Check out my other posts here!

TBR and Beyond Tours: Highly Suspicious and Unfairly Cute by Talia Hibbert

Highly Suspicious and Unfairly Cute by Talia Hibbert Release Date: January 3rd, 2023 Publisher: Joy Revolution Genre: Young Adult, Romance Pages: 336 Goodreads | The StoryGraph | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | Indiebound Synopsis From the New York Times bestselling author of the Brown Sisters trilogy, comes a laugh-out-loud story about…

Read More

TBR and Beyond Book Tour: The Dragon’s Promise by Elizabeth Lim

Synopsis From the New York Times Bestselling author of Six Crimson Cranes comes a thrilling new adventure! A journey to the kingdom of dragons, a star-crossed love, and a cursed pearl with the power to mend the world or break it… Fans of Shadow and Bone will devour this soaring fantasy. Princess Shiori made a deathbed promise to return the dragon’s…

Read More

Turn the Page Tours: Blood Like Fate by Liselle Sambury

Synopsis Voya fights to save her witch community from a terrible future. Voya Thomas may have passed her Calling to become a full-fledged witch, but the cost was higher than she’d ever imagined. Her grandmother is gone. Her cousin hates her. And her family doesn’t believe that she has what it takes to lead them.…

Read More

TBR and Beyond Tours: Etta Invincible by Reese Eschmann

Etta Invincible by Reese Eschmann Release Date: July 12th, 2022 Publisher: Aladdin Genre: Middle Grade Contemporary Pages: 368 Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | Indiebound Synopsis A girl with hearing loss and a boy adjusting to life in a new country connect through their love of comics and…

Read More

Colored Pages Tours: The Witchery by S. Isabelle

Synopsis Haelsford, Florida is a Hellmouth. Or at least, that’s what Logan, a baby witch struggling to control her powers, thinks as she arrives to the witchtown to begin the new school year at Mesmortes Coven Academy. She is immediately taken under the wing of the infamous Red Three. Iris is a deathwitch who wants…

Read More

2 thoughts on “Book Tour: The Infinity Courts by Akemi Dawn Bowman

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s