Book Tour: The Infinity Courts by Akemi Dawn Bowman

The Infinity Courts by: Akemi Dawn Bowman

Release Date: April 6th, 2021

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Sci-Fi

Pages: 482

Goodreads | Bookshop

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Cover Artist: Casey Weldon

Cover Designer: Laura Eckes


Synopsis

Eighteen-year-old Nami Miyamoto is certain her life is just beginning. She has a great family, just graduated high school, and is on her way to a party where her entire class is waiting for her—including, most importantly, the boy she’s been in love with for years.

The only problem? She’s murdered before she gets there.

When Nami wakes up, she learns she’s in a place called Infinity, where human consciousness goes when physical bodies die. She quickly discovers that Ophelia, a virtual assistant widely used by humans on Earth, has taken over the afterlife and is now posing as a queen, forcing humans into servitude the way she’d been forced to serve in the real world. Even worse, Ophelia is inching closer and closer to accomplishing her grand plans of eradicating human existence once and for all.

As Nami works with a team of rebels to bring down Ophelia and save the humans under her imprisonment, she is forced to reckon with her past, her future, and what it is that truly makes us human. From award-winning author Akemi Dawn Bowman comes an incisive, action-packed tale that explores big questions about technology, grief, love, and humanity.


Review

Thank you immensely to Turn the Page Tours, author Akemi Dawn Bowman, and Simon Pulse for gifting me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review and allowing me to be on this book tour.

The Infinity Courts unique storyline really prompts you to think about how you use technology and AI in your daily life and the affect it could have on your future. Thinking about how much I say “Alexa” or “Siri” on any given day makes me feel sort of sad, especially after reading about how Ophelia feels in this novel.

The story itself is truly unique. I have never thought about the possibility that something other than a spirit would be controlling the afterlife of humans. Ophelia is the equivalent of the Alexas and Siris of today, but this AI has developed into something all-encompassing and also developed consciousness. I have to admit, this portion of the story was somewhat frightening to me. After being told what to do on the daily from who knows how many humans on earth, Ophelia is tired and wants to become one with the human world as well as the afterlife. Now, I am not saying that what Ophelia is doing to the souls in the afterlife is good or justified, buttt I can understand where she’s coming from.

After Nami dies, she enters the afterlife where Ophelia rules, the Infinity. As Nami tries to prevent Ophelia from taking over the human world, she reflects on how she felt towards Ophelia when was just a piece of AI back home. This definitely allowed the story to come full circle in terms of how we feel, as readers, towards Nami and Ophelia.

The characters can also be frustrating at times, but they were still lovable none the less. Nami frustrated me mainly because she doesn’t know how to take advice, which is fine! I don’t know how to take advice either on a good day. I truly believe that sometimes we forget that characters in books are allowed to have flaws just like real people do. But, something that made me really love Nami was the love she had for her sister and her fight to make sure her sister stays safe. It was just a beautiful addition to the story.

If you’re a fan of black mirror, AI, love, and sacrifice, then The Infinity Courts is the right novel for you. Definitely put this on your TBR and pick it up or request it at your library if you can.


Enter this Giveaway for a chance to win 1 of (2) copies of The Infinity Courts by Akemi Dawn Bowman


Turn the Page Tours: The Infinity Courts Launch Post

*includes tour schedule


Meet the Author

Akemi Dawn Bowman is a critically-acclaimed author who writes across genres. Her novels have received multiple accolades and award nominations, and her debut novel, STARFISH, was a William C. Morris Award Finalist. She has a BA in social sciences from the University of Nevada, Las Vegas, and currently lives in Scotland with her husband and two children. She overthinks everything, including this bio.

Website | Instagram | Twitter | Goodreads


Meet the Cover Artist

Casey Weldon

Shop | Instagram


Meet the Cover Designer

Hello! 

I’m a Designer at Simon and Schuster, as well as a freelance illustrator, and author of Doodle Bug Diaries.

My work has been featured in the New York Book Show, Entertainment Weekly and Spine Magazine.

I like stale Oreos and do not like statues anywhere near water. I usually have the Brace Face theme song stuck in my head.

Please contact me at lauraeckes@gmail.com for any inquiries!

Website | Instagram


Check out my other posts here!

Book Tour: Again Again by E. Lockhart

Synopsis From the New York Times bestselling author of We Were Liars and Genuine Fraud comes a complex novel about acceptance, forgiveness, self-discovery, and possibility, as a teenage girl attempts to regain some sense of normalcy in her life after a family crisis and a broken heart. If you could live your life again, what would you do differently? […]

Read More

Book Tour: The Last Shadow Warrior by Sam Subity

Synopsis Content Warnings: Main characters’s mother has died four years earlier and her father is critically injured and hospitalized for most of the book. Twelve-year-old Abby Beckett is proud to come from a long line of elite Viking warriors known as the Aesir. She’s spent her entire life training to hunt the horrific creatures known […]

Read More

Book Tour: The Ivies by Alexa Donne

Synopsis Everyone knows the Ivies: the most coveted universities in the United States. Far more important are the Ivies. The Ivies at Claflin Academy, that is. Five girls with the same mission: to get into the Ivy League by any means necessary. I would know. I’m one of them. We disrupt class ranks, club leaderships, […]

Read More

Book Tour: The Firebird Song

Synopsis Debut author Arnée Flores spins an exciting and original tale about hope in even the darkest of places, perfect for fans of Shannon Hale. The Kingdom of Lyrica was once warm and thriving, kept safe by the Firebird, whose feather and song was a blessing of peace and prosperity. But the Firebird disappeared, and Lyrica […]

Read More

Book Tour: Son of the STorm by Suyi Davies Okungbowa

On-page Representation African/Black Albinism Disability Nonbinary Pan/polysexual Trigger and Content Warnings Ageism Bones Colourism/discrimination Emotionally manipulative relationship Fire Misogyny Pain Pregnancy and miscarriage/abortion Violence, blood and murder Synopsis A young scholar’s ambition threatens to reshape an empire determined to retain its might in this epic tale of violent conquest, buried histories, and forbidden magic. In […]

Read More

Book Tour: The Other Side oF Perfect by Mariko Turk

Synopsis Content Warning: protagonist is dealing with a lot of anger and some depression, various experiences of racism Alina Keeler was destined to dance, but one terrifying fall shatters her leg–and her dreams of a professional ballet career along with it.  After a summer healing (translation: eating vast amounts of Cool Ranch Doritos and binging […]

Read More

2 thoughts on “Book Tour: The Infinity Courts by Akemi Dawn Bowman

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s