Book Tour: Sweet & Bitter Magic

Sweet & Bitter Magic by: Adrienne Tooley

Release Date: March 9th, 2021

Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Pages: 368

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | Indiebound

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Cover Artist: Tara Phillips

Cover Designer: Laura Eckes


Synopsis

In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery of Thorns and Girls of Paper and Fire, a witch cursed to never love meets a girl hiding her own dangerous magic, and the two strike a dangerous bargain to save their queendom.

Tamsin is the most powerful witch of her generation. But after committing the worst magical sin, she’s exiled by the ruling Coven and cursed with the inability to love. The only way she can get those feelings back—even for just a little while—is to steal love from others.

Wren is a source—a rare kind of person who is made of magic, despite being unable to use it herself. Sources are required to train with the Coven as soon as they discover their abilities, but Wren—the only caretaker to her ailing father—has spent her life hiding her secret.

When a magical plague ravages the queendom, Wren’s father falls victim. To save him, Wren proposes a bargain: if Tamsin will help her catch the dark witch responsible for creating the plague, then Wren will give Tamsin her love for her father.

Of course, love bargains are a tricky thing, and these two have a long, perilous journey ahead of them—that is, if they don’t kill each other first..


Review

Thank you to TBR and Beyond Tours, author Adrienne Tooley, and Margaret K. McElderry Books for sending me a copy of this book. To see the rest of the Tour Schedule please click here!

Sweet & Bitter Magic gives us exactly what the title foretold. This magical story is full of sweet moments and bitter decisions that leave you longing for more of this story and characters. Forcing Tamsin and Wren, two girls from completely different worlds, to go on a harrowing journey together is the sapphic story I didn’t know I needed. Tamsin is cold and calculating, while Wren is hopeful with a heart full of kindness. The girls couldn’t be more of a foil to one another and Tooley definitely knows how to play these two girls strengths and weaknesses against each other to make for an interesting read.

Adrienne Tooley’s worldbuilding was on point. Upon reading the first couple of chapters, Tooley gives us information about the world little by little until you have a comprehensive understanding of the world that Tamsin and Wren are living in and what is at stake with their quest that they are currently on. There are a few flashback moments in this story, but they melt perfectly into the narrative itself so that the transitions are not choppy whatsoever. Tooley expertly uses these flashbacks to show us character development as well as important facts about the girls past without it feeling info dumpy.

Overall, reading this novel truly felt like taking a breath of fresh air. The story itself was entertaining, heartbreaking, and fantastical. The pacing was phenomenal and it prevented me from putting the novel down on multiple occasions. And you truly do fall in love with Tamsin and Wren while you are reading. I wanted the two girls to win this awful adventure that they had been thrown into and I rooted for them so hard. I also really appreciate how this novel portrayed a sapphic romance. It felt very natural and it made me love the story even more than I already had. Sweet & Bitter Magic is a gift that keeps on giving throughout the whole story and I really wish I could forget it all and read it all over again.


Mood Board


Playlist


Giveaway for 1 Winner to Receive a Finished Copy of Sweet & Bitter Magic (US Only)


Meet the Author

Adrienne Tooley was born and raised in the desert suburbs of Southern California. She grew up in the theater, earning her B.A. in Musical Theatre from Point Park University. She and her wife currently live in New York City where she works in hospitality tech. In addition to writing novels she is also a singer/songwriter and has released several EPs which are available on Spotify & other streaming sites. Her debut novel, SWEET & BITTER MAGIC, will publish from S&S/McElderry in Spring 2021. Her second novel, SOFI AND THE BONE SONG, will release from S&S/McElderry in 2022.

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads


Meet the Cover Artist

Tara Phillips

I’m a freelance illustrator based in Sydney, Australia. I like to play with themes of Natural Supernaturalism in my work, taking inspiration from imagery that evokes a sense of mystery, nostalgia and reflection. As an artist, my tools of the trade consist of a MacBook Pro, a Wacom Intuos pro tablet, and a Mobile Studio pro. More often than not, you’ll find me hunched at my desk, working on a book cover or two, drinking tea, and listening to a good audiobook or soundtrack.

Some of the clients I’ve worked with include: Disney + Lucasfilm Press, Simon & Schuster, Penguin Random House, St. Martin’s Press, ImagineFX Magazine, Qantas, Australian Geographic, AAMI Insurance, and The Millionaires Magician. 

My work has also been featured in shows and events for: Light Grey Art Lab, Gallery Nucleus, Adobe and Wacom.

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Twitch | Behance | Vimeo


Meet the Cover Designer

Laura Eckes

Hello! 

I’m a Designer at Simon and Schuster, as well as a freelance illustrator, and author of Doodle Bug Diaries.

My work has been featured in the New York Book Show, Entertainment Weekly and Spine Magazine.

I like stale Oreos and do not like statues anywhere near water. I usually have the Brace Face theme song stuck in my head.

Please contact me at lauraeckes(at)gmail(dot)com for any inquiries!

Website | Instagram


Book Tour: The Wild Ones by Nafiza Azad

Synopsis From William C. Morris Finalist Nafiza Azad comes a thrilling, feminist fantasy about a group of teenage girls endowed with special powers who must band together to save the life of the boy whose magic saved them all. Meet the Wild Ones: girls who have been hurt, abandoned, and betrayed all their lives. It […]

Read More

Book Tour: The Taking of Jake Livingston by Ryan Douglass

Synopsis Get Out meets Danielle Vega in this YA horror where survival is not a guarantee. Jake Livingston is one of the only Black kids at St. Clair Prep, one of the others being his infinitely more popular older brother. It’s hard enough fitting in but to make matters worse and definitely more complicated, Jake can […]

Read More

Book Tour: Six Crimson Cranes by Elizabeth Lim

Synopsis Shiori, the only princess of Kiata, has a secret. Forbidden magic runs through her veins. Normally she conceals it well, but on the morning of her betrothal ceremony, Shiori loses control. At first, her mistake seems like a stroke of luck, forestalling the wedding she never wanted, but it also catches the attention of […]

Read More

Book Tour: It Ends in Fire by Andrew Shvarts

Synopsis ALKA CHELRAZI IS ON A MISSION:1. Infiltrate Blackwater Academy2. Win the Great Game3. Burn Wizard society to the ground As a child, Alka witnessed her parents’ brutal murder at the hands of Wizards before she was taken in by an underground rebel group. Now, Alka is deep undercover at the most prestigious school of […]

Read More

Book Tour: Blood Like Magic by Liselle Sambury

Synopsis Content Warnings: Whipping scene within the context of slavery, gun/police violence, discussion of and character with an eating disorder, blood/gore/violence, death, substance abuse/addiction, mentions of child neglect A rich, dark urban fantasy debut following a teen witch who is given a horrifying task: sacrificing her first love to save her family’s magic. The problem […]

Read More

Book Tour: Again Again by E. Lockhart

Synopsis From the New York Times bestselling author of We Were Liars and Genuine Fraud comes a complex novel about acceptance, forgiveness, self-discovery, and possibility, as a teenage girl attempts to regain some sense of normalcy in her life after a family crisis and a broken heart. If you could live your life again, what would you do differently? […]

Read More

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s